Review of Guilt By Degrees

 

Guilt by Degrees (A Rachel Knight Novel)

Guilt By Degrees by Marcia Clark is the second book I’ve read by this author and I’ve loved them both. Rachel Knight is back and teams up with her detective friend, Bailey, to work the case of a homeless man’s death. Together they work tirelessly to put the case together and solve the murder. They also must figure out if the past murder of a policeman is related, and if so, how it’s related.

The characters are well developed and I learned a lot more of Rachel’s back history, which made her seem even more human. I like the fact that I read the first book so I could see her development and relate to her past. The women in these books appear very tough and seems as though they can handle most anything.

The writing style is very descriptive, and again, as in the first book, I feel like too much detail is given to mundane everyday things, like restaurants and clothing. There is also much time spent on the women’s drinking habits, and I did not feel like this added anything to the story line.

The plot was well thought out and there are twists and turns to keep me guessing. It is a very suspenseful action-filled book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a legal thriller or a police procedural. I would recommend reading the books in order so that you can see the growth of the characters from book one to book two.

Leave a Reply

