Review Of Finding Sky

 

Finding Sky by Susan   O'Brien

 

Finding Sky by Susan O’Brien is a great mystery that pulled me in from the very beginning and never let me go. It has mystery, friendship, a bit of romance and humor. The mystery aspect is great but what I thought made the book extra special are the characters.

Nicki is a single mom with two young children. She is a bit overprotective, which is something I can relate to, and will do anything to keep her children safe and happy. She is a private eye in- training, and has a crush on one of her instructors. Her best friend Kenna and her husband Andy are waiting to adopt a baby but the birth mother is missing. Kenna asks for Nicki’s help in finding her, and Nicki cannot say no.

Nicki is a person I would like to be friends with. She has a big heart, is very determined and also has a sense of humor. I found it refreshing that the main character was a little older and a mother, who was trying to do the best she could. She is more obsessed about her children’s welfare than finding a boyfriend (although she does have a crush on Dean, one of her instructors). She has insecurities like we all do, and doubts about her abilities. I felt like she was a real person and wanted her to succeed. I think this is a sign of a great author when they can make a character seem so real.

The other characters in the book are also very well rounded, well developed and three dimensional. The interactions between the characters are very realistic and humanistic. The writing style is very descriptive and it is easy to feel like I was right there with the characters, watching all the happenings first hand.

The writing style flows smoothly and this is an easy read. The book is a clean one, which I appreciate. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery and to anyone who wants to read a feel-good book. I look forward to reading more about Nicki and her friends and family. Treat yourself and read Finding Sky.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Henery Press Publishers for the opportunity to read this great book.

7 thoughts on “Review Of Finding Sky

Leave a Reply

