Review of Lock, Stock and Over A Barrel

 

16072401

Lock, Stock and Over A Barrel by Melody Carson is a great Christian romance that is not too preachy. It is the first book in the Dear Daphne series.

Daphne Ballinger thought she had landed her perfect job writing for the New York Times. But as is often the case, the things we think we want the most don’t always turn out to be as good as re expected. So when her Aunt Dee dies and leave her estate to Daphne, it is easy for her to leave New York to return home to handle things. What is not easy is learning the stipulations of her inheritance. How will Daphne ever be able to fulfil her Aunt’s wishes and keep the inheritance? If she doesn’t, it will all go the “cats”.

The writing style flows smoothly and this book is an easy read. The characters are well developed, well round and three dimensional. Although at times I didn’t feel that Daphne acted her age and I forgot how old she is. But the characters are faced with everyday problems and experience emotions that we have all gone through, and that helped me connect to them.

As others have stated in their reviews, this story ends abruptly with no definite conclusion. Since I’m able to get book two in the series right away (it’s already been released) it is not that big a deal to me. As a matter of fact, I already have the next book to read. But if I had to wait a long time to find out what happened next, I would not be too happy.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great Christian romance that is not too preachy. This is the first book that I’ve read by this author, but it will not be my last.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and B&H Books for the opportunity to read this book.

One thought on “Review of Lock, Stock and Over A Barrel

Leave a Reply

