Review of Death Takes A Ride

18637156

Death Takes A Ride (The Cate Kincaid Files Book #3) by Lorena McCourtney is a great mystery and a fun read. There is mystery, romance, humor and animals, what’s not to like!

Cate Kincaid is an assistant private investigator who works for her uncle’s investigating firm. She is waiting for the paperwork that will change her status to a full-fledged private investigator. While she is waiting for that to happen, she has enough things to keep her busy. She is involved in a murder case that seems very cut and dry and she is trying to referee her cat, Octavia and an exuberant dog, Clancy, who is now a part of her life. She is also trying to figure out her relationship with her boyfriend, Mitch. And she has a couple jobs to investigate, one locating the owner of an expensive Indian motorcycle and another finding out who sent a threatening letter to her client. Cate definitely has her hands full.

I feel like Cate made this book so good. She is not a seasoned investigator, she just wings it as she goes along. She has inner struggles as to whether or not she is really cut out to be an investigator, and much of the time these struggles are humorous. Some of the thoughts and ideas she has made me laugh out loud. She was a very refreshing character and one that I really enjoyed reading about. I thought all the characters were well developed and realistic. Mitch is a great guy, trying to take care and keep Cate safe. And he has fallen hard for Clancy.

The relationship between Octavia and Clancy was also quite funny. I could just picture the way the animals were behaving in my mind, and it was a very comical picture. This is another reason I thought this book was so good.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The writing style is descriptive and action packed and a lot of the time I felt like I was right there watching the action first hand. It is a clean read, with no cussing or sexual scenes. There is one description of a murder victim that might bother some more sensitive readers but in my opinion it just added to the humor of the story (I’m not a sensitive reader!). I was pretty sure that I had figured out the killer but I did not know how everything was going to be tied together. And it all got tied together nicely.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a mystery that has humor included. Although this is the third book in the series, it is a good stand alone book. I have not read the other two books in the series and I had no trouble knowing what was going on. I have already downloaded the other two books to read because I want to get to know Cate a little better.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thanks NetGalley and Revell Publishers for the opportunity to read this great book.

One thought on “Review of Death Takes A Ride

Leave a Reply

