Review for Surviving Henry

18637173

Surviving Henry by Erin Taylor Young is the “tail” of a family’s journey with their dog Henry. And what a dog he is. Wild, rambunctious and crazy are words that in no way accurately describe his behavior. But no matter what his behavior is, he is always a loyal and faithful companion. Henry is the puppy who almost failed first year puppy obedience class. He is also the puppy who cannot swim and needs a doggie life jacket when he goes in the water (we have one of those dogs too, and even with the vest he tips sideways). He is also the dog that completes the family and whom they cannot live without.

The author does a great job blending a humorous story with a heartwarming story. This book displays many examples of unconditional love: between Henry and his humans, his humans and Henry and his humans and God. These are the best kinds of unconditional love and it is a real joy reading about this love and devotion.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The author is very witty and humorous and through the whole book I found myself smiling. And at times I was laughing out loud, and this does not happen very often when I read. Being a dog owner I found some of the situations hysterical, but only because I was reading about it. If I was actually living through it, I probably would not have found it so funny. I find it amazing that this was a true story and I enjoyed the book all the more because of that fact.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a humorous book, even if you are not a dog person. If you are a dog person, that makes the book over the top for enjoyment.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Revel Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review for Surviving Henry

  1. Awww…what a sweet story. I’ve TBR’d this on GoodReads and entered the giveaway they are doing. It’s open until the 18th. I can feel the warmth coming from your review. Well done!

Leave a Reply

