Review of A Dark And Stormy Knit

17571847

A Dark and Stormy Knit by Anne Canadeo is book six in the Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries series. It revolves around a group of friends who get together at least once a week to eat and knit. As is typical in a cozy, there is a mystery to solve. The mystery is a murder and one of their own is a “person of interest”. The friends know that they need to help the police solve the murder so that none of them get arrested. They have had experience with sort of thing in the past so they know what to do. At least they think they do.

The characters are well rounded and likable. But I found that I did not really connect with them like I usually do when reading a cozy. That may be because this is the first book in the series of six that I have read. I did not feel like I knew their back story and the development of their friendships. That is not the author’s fault, but I just did not care as much as I usually do concerning what happened to the characters. I also had a little trouble keeping track of who was who because there were a lot of characters involved. I plan to read the other five books in the series and see if I feel more connected.

The mystery runs throughout the entire book and there are many different suspects to consider. The twist and turns were numerous and kept me guessing throughout the book. The writing style flows smoothly and the book was an easy read.

I would recommend this book to any knitter who loves to read mysteries. But you do not need to be a knitter to enjoy the book. I do not knit but I still enjoyed the book.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review of A Dark And Stormy Knit

Leave a Reply

