Review of On Her Father’s Grave

22915449

On Her Father’s Grave by Kendra Elliot is a great start to the Rogue River series. Kendra is writing two of the four books and Melinda Leigh is writing the other two. On Her Father’s Grave is an excellent start to the series. I do not know why some books just connect with a reader and you cannot read enough of the book, I just know that this was one of those books for me. I could not read it fast enough or enjoyed it more.

Stevie Taylor returns to Solitude, Oregon, after her father’s death. She realizes how much she has missed being around her family and her hometown. She is hired as a patrol officer in the department where her father was the chief. He has been replaced by Zane Duncan, who is not from Solitude. But he is well liked by Stevie’s family and her deceased father felt like Zane was one of his sons. Will Stevie and Zane be able to work together or will Stevie dislike Zane for trying to replace her father?

The two of them must work together to solve the mystery of why a teenager dies of no apparent cause. There is an unknown substance found in the dead teenager’s system. When another teenager dies under similar circumstances with the same substance found, Stevie and Zane are afraid there is a big drug problem facing them. They need to find out what the new drug is and who is supplying it to the teenagers, before any other teens die.

The hometown setting and the family closeness make this book an exceptional read. The characters are well developed and well rounded. They are likable and people you would like to have as a friend. There is a relationship beginning to build between Stevie and Zane and I cannot wait to see where it leads. Some of the family members are behaving oddly and I want to find out the reason behind it.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. I was hooked from the first page, wanting to learn more about each of the characters. The mystery of how the teen died and who the drug supplier is was carried on until the end. Since this is the first in a four book novella series, these questions, and others are not yet answered but there is a good foundation for the rest of the books. My only complaint about the books is that it is a novella. I wanted this book to be a full length novel because it was so good. I knew before I read this that it was a novella, but I wanted more to read right now. But I will definitely read the other three novellas when they are released. I have read other books from Kendra Elliot and I loved them all. This book is a great read and I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a well crafted mystery.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Montlake Romance for the opportunity to read and review this book.

One thought on “Review of On Her Father’s Grave

Leave a Reply

