Review of The Buried

20706724

The Buried by Shelley Coriell is a fantastic suspense book. It is book two in The Apostles series. It pulled me in from page one and never let me go.

Grace is a state prosecutor for Cypress Bend, Florida. She receives a phone call from a girl that claims she is buried alive. Grace needs to find the girl before she dies. Withe the help of her ex-husband, Hatch, she follows every and all clues in the search. Hatch is a crisis expert with the FBI and with the help of his team, there are many people searching for the girl. This is only one of the mysteries in this book.

Two bodies are found where Grace is now living, and after being examined, it is determined that the bodies are a woman and child. In Kentucky, the bodies of an elderly couple are found. There is no way to identify the bodies because their faces and fingerprints have been burned off. Are these murders related at all or are they just a coincidence?

The relationship between Grace and Hatch is complicated but sweet. Another complicated relationship is the one between Hatch and his teenage son, a son he never knew existed. A completely sweet relationship is the one between Grace and an old dog. The dog has lived at the place that Grace now lives his whole life and has decided that that is where he belongs. Grace says he is NOT her dog and that she does not like him because he drools too much and stinks. But in reality, she loves the dog and does think of him as her dog. I really liked the relationship between the two.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick read. The writing is descriptive and at times I felt like I was right there in Florida, watching the investigation first hand. The tension and suspense continue to build throughout the entire book until the very end.

This is the first book that I have read by Shelley Coriell and I have already gotten the first book in the series to read. I would place this author on my list of favorite suspense authors, right there with other favorites of mine like Maggie Shayne, Lisa Jackson and Erica Spindler. In my opinion this was one of the best suspense books I have read this year. I highly recommend this book to suspense lovers, I do not think you will be disappointed. I would have rated it more than 5 stars if I could have.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. And I honestly loved this book. I would like to thank NetGalley and Forever Publishers for the opportunity to read this fantastic book.

Leave a Reply

