Review of Murder The Tey Way

Product Details

Murder The Tey Wey by Marilyn Levinson Is a good cozy mystery featuring a group of friends that get together for a book club. The book club is called the Golden Age of Mystery book club and they read and discuss classic mysteries. It is run by Professor Lexie Driscoll. Other members include her best friend, Joy, who is a former FBI agent who is now a full time mom. There is also her neighbors, Felicity and Corinne, who are very strange. Marge and Evan and Tim and Sadie also belong to the club.

When they are not reading and discussing the books they read they find they have a few mysteries to solve. One, who is chasing after Lexie’s sister, Gayle. Two, who killed the man that was found in Lexie’s backyard. Three, who is robbing the homes of some of the members. And four, who killed one of the book club members and why. It will take some serious investigating to figure out the answers to these questions.

There are many twists and turns in this book that adds to the suspense and mystery. There are also many suspects who could be guilty of these crimes. Between the twists and turns and the suspect list, it is very difficult to figure out who the culprits are. I found myself scrolling through my e-reader as fast as I could read to find out what was going to happen next.

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional. You could tell that there is a deep friendship between Lexie and Joy, even though it was put to the test. The relationship between Lexie and her sister is also tested many times and it was interesting seeing if their problems could be resolved. There is a unique dynamics between the book club members and it was refreshing that they all did not get along. In so many cozies, there is a core group of friends that have each other’s back, no matter what. In this book it seems more realistic because the members had problems with each other at times and did not always get along. I think Marilyn has a good understanding of human nature and that shows through in her character development.

The writing style flows smoothly and this book is an easy read. Marilyn is so good at crafting a well plotted book that makes you want to keep turning the pages. I really like the fact that there is more than one mystery to solve and the reasons for the crimes. The book really put my sleuthing skills to the test, and I found out I am not as good as I thought I was.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well written cozy. If you enjoy Golden Age Mysteries, you will really enjoy this book because there are many references to Josephine Tey’s works and how it could be used today for solving crimes. I thought this fact made the book even more unique. I have read many of Marilyn Levinson’s books and I have really loved them all. As soon as I find out she has a book coming out, I know it is one I want to read. Check them out for yourself and I am sure you will agree.

2 thoughts on “Review of Murder The Tey Way

Leave a Reply

