Review of Christmas On Chestnut Street

21538378

Christmas On Chestnut Street by Nancy Thayer is a heartwarming story of family, traditions, love and Christmas.

Felicia and her fiance, Archie, travel to Nantucket for Christmas and a Christmas day wedding. She wants to make her mother happy and figures it will mean a lot to get married at home in a small celebration. Her sister Lauren and her family will be there, as will Archie’s mother, Pat. With her mother, Jilly’s, attention to detail and ability to throw the perfect party, what can wrong?
Little does Felicia know that Jilly has ideas of reuniting her and and an old family friend that has moved in next door. That’s just one of the things that can wrong, one of many. There are many humorous situations that occur, as well as some more serious ones that need to be dealt with.

The characters are well developed and have many human traits that we all have. I do feel that the characters could have had a little more depth to them, but it was easy to like them and care what happens to them. As an added bonus, Rex, the newly adopted cat, adds a lot to the mayhem and confusion to the holiday season, and offers comedy relief.

The writing style flows smoothly and this is a easy quick read. The author has very descriptive writing style, and whether I was reading about the cold and snow, or the holiday decorations, or the delicious food, I felt like I was right there taking it all in. I could feel the cold wind blowing and the snow falling and was happy that I was comfortable inside my house reading.

Although I feel that the plot could have a little more substance to it, the book was still a great lighthearted read about family and love. Sometimes you are in the mood for this type of story, and if you are, this book will fit the bill nicely. It is a great book to start getting in the holiday spirit.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group-Ballantine for the opportunity to read and review this book.

3 thoughts on “Review of Christmas On Chestnut Street

  1. I love Nancy Thayer and Christmas ❤
    Are most of the books you review new? I don't yet see them in our catalog at the library so I am assuming they are brand new. Not to worry, I just add them to my goodreads list.

    • Yes, a lot of the ones I read and review are new releases or soon-to -be released. Thanks for stopping by and checking out the blog and reviews. I appreciate it, hope you keep stopping by. Mary

Leave a Reply

