Book Give-away of Deadlines

Today I am excited to spend a little time with E. Hepner, author of Deadlines: A Written To Death Mystery. It is the first in the series, and rumor has it there will be a book two! She was nice enough to answer my questions so we could get to know her a little better.
Learn a little bit about this author and then buy her new book, which has just been released. Or comment below for a chance to win a free kindle copy. A winner will be chosen randomly from those who leave a comment. Be sure to leave information for contacting you, should you be the lucky winner. The book giveaway will run from today, 11/6/14 until 11/11/14.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, ever since I was really little and read Little Women. Once I watched the movie my desire only intensified as I watched Jo on screen.

What inspired you to write your first book?

It wasn’t so much inspiration as it was graduating from college and knowing I had to do something to make money while my fiancée floated me so I could follow my dreams. I’d written books before that one, but none of them were publishable.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really, I’ve never dealt with dead bodies or solving crime, I’ve been lucky enough to keep all that stuff to either on TV or in my imagination.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing is always the hardest part for me, because once I finish I know I have to start editing. I also start to get stage fright about the book being out in the world so I stop wanting to finish it in order to avoid seeing it either get bought or bomb. The second piece of it is the research, I could research for hours over the tiniest thing, but I don’t stop looking until I’m a hundred percent none of my readers will be able to call me out on it.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Be patient. Keep writing. Always do an outline for at least the next book in the series, if a few books if you know where the series is headed.

How much research do you do?

Tons. So many random bookmarks are on my Chrome Browser, it’s not even funny. But I keep everything, just in case I’ll need it in another book.

How long does it take you to write a book?
As early as two months to as long as eight months depending on how cooperative the characters are being inside my head.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I write from about 10am to at least 10pm every day interspersed with social media, promo, and the four other jobs that I have on the side.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

I can actually write a mystery? That was a huge surprise for me because where I’d always dreamed of doing it, I always made excuses. I wasn’t smart enough, the plots were too complicated, and there were too many pieces to hand out over every page. But, somehow, I made it work and I loved doing it.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I’ve written only one cozy mystery, which is my debut, but I’m hard at work on both the sequel and another series debut with a doomsday prepper.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Not as often as I would like, please feel free to send me emails, readers, I would love to hear from you!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to include me and my books in your life. I know time is sketchy thing these days with everything we have to fit in a day and I’m so pleased that chose to support me as well as my work.

E. Hepner is the cozy mystery pen name of erotica and erotic romance author Elise Hepner. She writes small town heroines with an alternative edge put in big time situations where death, hijinks, and overall shenanigans ensue on a daily basis. Also a little romance–which they may or may not be ready for, given the pile up of dead bodies.
Some of her favorite cozies are ones by Kate Carlisle, Ali Brandon, Janet Evanovich, and Gemma Halliday. When not thinking about corpses and trickery she’s planted in front of the TV petting her demanding cat or looking up things on Google that she really doesn’t want on her internet history.

23385718

Ainsley Moss never thought she’d become a representative for the dead. But as a newbie obituary writer for the Aurora Fall’s Guardian, she gets a sneak peek at her new profession. Her ex-best friend and rival newspaper worker turns up blue and stiff as a board in the women’s bathroom—after they’ve had a less than civil confrontation.
Ainsley’s in the habit of memorializing the dead, not finding them. But now she’s saddled with a motive for murder—killing to drum up obituaries in order to further her career in a dying newspaper business where everything is going digital.
When another victim meets his maker with a connection to the first victim, Ainsley has to make nice with a hard ass, bombshell Detective who’s dead set on closing the case or risk the calm of their cozy town. Ainsley’s charming, ex-boyfriend turned roommate Gage Sullivan comes to her aid as they throw themselves into deadly research. Every obituary interview brings them that much closer to finding a killer connection. While fighting her new rep as a prime suspect, her matchmaking, Stepford mother is intent on keeping her daughter’s dirty laundry under wraps and her sex addicted wealthy grandparents want to buy her way out of jail. Or at least help her learn how to make a shiv.
None too thrilled with the idea of making friends with a cell mate named Betty the Bruiser, she’ll wade knee deep into a cesspool of the town’s secrets, gossip, and lies. But with a whacky cast of characters hell bent on keeping the peace, no bit of personal information is sacred. They have to find a killer—before Ainsley loses her freedom and her chance to make peace with a fate that scares her more than anything else in life.

15 thoughts on “Book Give-away of Deadlines

  1. I enjoyed the interview. I’m especially intrigued by the book since my first job in newspapers had me writing obits . . . along with county politics, the school board, three or four small towns, the religion page, and a weekly feature on local residents.

Leave a Reply

