Review of Seeing The Dead

23268087

Seeing The Dead by Sheila Connolly Is a cozy read with elements of paranormal. It also has a lot of historical facts and researching included.

Abby Kimball just started working at a museum and she has recently moved to Concord, Massachusetts. She has dumped her last boyfriend and she is now starting a new relationship with Ned Newhall. She has a lot of change and firsts in her life. The biggest change would be the fact that she can now see ghosts. It appears that the only ghosts she can see are somehow related to her but the whole ghost-seeing thing is new to her and she does not understand how it works. Lucky for her, Ned can also see ghosts, although a lot of the time they cannot see the same ghosts. When Abby and Ned attend a Revolutionary War re-enactment practice, she sees a Revolutionary War soldier and has no idea who he is. She decides that she needs to research and find out who he is, how he is related and why she can see him.

There is much information about the Revolutionary War contained in this book and also the steps taken to do this type of research. The author seems very knowledgeable on both the war and the research process and I found this impressive. History has never been my favorite subject so I found myself skimming quickly through sections of the book because I was not interested. This is in no way a reflection on the author’s writing ability because I think she presented the material very well. This is just a reflection of my interests.

I love reading cozy paranormals that have ghosts in them. This is one of my favorite genres to read. I was a little disappointed with that aspect of the book. I feel that there could have been more interaction between Abby and the ghost. I feel that a lot of the book took place in Abby’s head, where we could read her thoughts and her worries and her indecisions. I would have liked less of the book dealing with these things and more of the book dealing with the ghost. Again, this is only my opinion and thoughts on the book and you may not agree with it. For some readers, finding out her inner thoughts may be more appealing than watching more action.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys learning about history while reading a cozy. If you are interested in history, especially the Revolutionary War, then you should read this book. I thought it was a good book but, in my opinion, it could have been better. I have read other books by Sheila Connolly and I have enjoyed them.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a free copy. I would like to thank NetGalley and Beyond The Page Publishers for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review of Seeing The Dead

Leave a Reply

