Review of Paw Enforcement

18404165

Paw Enforcement by Diane Kelly is such a fun read. It had humor, suspense, romance and a great dog. What more could you ask for?

Megan Luz is a patrol officer who is in the dog house. She tasered her male partner in a place that would really hurt, and instead of being kicked off the force, she is given a new partner, Brigit, a K-9 officer. Megan is not too happy about being stuck with a dog, and Brigit is not too happy about being stuck with Megan. The two have some struggles determining who is the alpha, and at times, this struggle is hilarious. My money is on Brigit.

After there is a bombing in a crowded mall, Megan meets Seth, a fireman who works in the bomb squad when needed. They must find the bomber before he strikes again and people are killed. It’s not an easy task, but they are determined to find the culprit. Along the way, they discover that they have a growing attraction to each other.

The real action begins after about the first one hundred pages, but I did not mind this at all. I was very content reading about Megan and Brigit’s working and personal relationships. I enjoyed reading about the training that goes into training a K-9 officer, I found it fascinating. I also enjoyed reading about the power struggle between the two and watching it turn into love and respect. I thought it was heart-warming.

The book is very funny and at times I found myself laughing out loud. Some of the things that Brigit does are really comical and some of the inner thoughts of Megan where really humorous. I especially loved the scene where Megan takes Brigit to church.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. I like the fact that the book is written from Megan’s perspective, Brigit’s perspective and the bombers perspective. Each was given a chapter where we could learn about the activities from their point of view. I thought this was unique and very effective.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mystery/suspense reads or if you are an animal lover. I thought that some of the language was a little rough and may offend some readers and I would not let a young adult read it. That’s just my opinion, but that is how I feel. I have now read any other books by this author but I plan on reading book two in the series. I already have it in my pile to read.

6 thoughts on “Review of Paw Enforcement

  1. I read mostly series mysteries and 19th Century books. Of the series mysteries, probably most are cozies, but I follow several series that aren’t. I’m good as long as the violence doesn’t go on for page after page. You can look at my ‘Teaser Tuesdays’ page which lists a good many of the books I was reading since I joined that meme.

Leave a Reply

