Review of Executive Lunch

11178567

Executive Lunch by Maria E. Schneider is the first book in the Sedona O’Hala Mystery book series and I thought it was really good. I enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

In this first book, we meet Sedona O’Hala, who works for Standfrost, finds herself involved i corporate espionage. She goes undercover, becoming part of the management team in the company, to try to help figure out who is skimming the company and how. She has no experience in either management or undercover work, but she is willing to give it her best shot. She really doesn’t mind the perks of being management and could get used to living that type of lifestyle, but she does have problems with some of her coworkers.

Sedona is a character that you can really like and enjoy reading about. She is spunky and brave and hard-headed but she also has a softer side. She is loyal to her friends and those people she see as being needy and will go out of her way to help them. She is funny and witty and sarcastic, a great combination. I found myself laughing out loud at some of the things she says and thinks.

One of the things I really enjoyed about this book is that it is a cozy mystery, but not a murder mystery. Most of the cozies I read revolve around a murder and how a group of friends try to solve it. And I really enjoy those. But I think this book is refreshing because it revolves around corporate wrongdoings. I really like that. The book is suspenseful and there are plenty of suspects to consider as the culprit. There are twists and turns along the way and there was a surprise towards the end that I never saw coming. I really enjoyed that.

Another thing I enjoyed about the book is the way Sedona tries to help an abused woman. It demonstrates how women being abused continue to return to the abuser and how hard it is to get the abused to stop the cycle. I feel this is a good reminder of a social problem that exists in our world today and one that cannot be stressed enough.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-crafted, well-plotted cozy mystery. This is the first book I have read by this author but I plan on reading her other two books in the series.

One thought on “Review of Executive Lunch

Leave a Reply

