Review of The Dells

23499403

The Dells: A Moms Weekend Mystery by K. L. Barnes is a mystery/suspense with humor thrown in.  It is the story of a group of moms who go away for a long weekend and the trouble they get in.

While on their weekend getaway to Prescott, Arizona, one of the friends joins a stranger, who she has just met, for a picnic lunch.  When she does not return, the remaining friends set out to find their friend at all costs.  When she is kidnapped, not once but twice, they will do whatever it takes to bring her back safely, even if it means risking their own safety in the process.

Detective Butch Cameron is pursuing a serial killer and really does not have time to deal with the women.  But after meeting them and becoming intrigued with Camille, he is willing to help them out as much as he can.  And who knows, maybe this case is related to his serial killer case.  If that is the case, their friend could be in grave danger.

I was not sure how much I was going to like this book while reading the first couple of chapters.  This was a group of women that I felt like I could not relate to.  They  seemed to only care about drinking and having a good time and seemed very shallow to me.  But I kept reading, and I am sure glad I did.  Everything changed for me after their friend went missing.  They changed from shallow women to women who had a deep love for their friend and who would do anything to bring her home safely.  They all had their own personalities and used their individual abilities to help in the search.    They were all strong women in their own ways and I enjoyed getting to know them better.  If I ever found myself in big trouble, I would want these women on my side, watching my back.  Their love for each other and commitment to each other seemed honest and true.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author has an ability to build suspense while interspersing humor to lighten the mood.  There are many twists and turns and a gradual build-up of tension that kept me swiping pages to see what would happen next.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys women’s fiction or those who enjoy suspense.  I have not read any other books from this author but I plan to read more of her books.  And I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review of The Dells

Leave a Reply

