Review of Spectrum

20977834

Spectrum by Alan Jacobson is the sixth book in The Karen Vail series.  It is a book that gives the reader some background into the life and career of Karen Vail, a FBI profiler.  Since this is the first book in the series that I have read, I found this very helpful.

This book follows the career of Karen, working her way up the ranks of law enforcement.  It tells of some of the cases that she worked on, including the Hades Killer.  That is one case she could just not let go of or forget.  It is really two stories in one book, the past and the present. At times I got a little confused (but that could just be me).   It also seems to me that this way of writing the story caused the book to be a little too long.  At times I found myself skimming pages to get back to the parts that interested me.

The characters are well developed and three dimensional.  The writing is descriptive and made me feel like I was right there watching all the action.  The mystery and suspense pulled me in from the beginning and dragged me right along until the end.  I thought that the police procedural aspects were exceptionally well written, the author knows his stuff when it comes to that.  I did really enjoy that.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-crafted police procedural with mystery and suspense.  As I stated before, I have not read any other books in the series but I enjoyed this book enough to want to start at the beginning and read the entire series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Open Road Media Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review of Spectrum

Leave a Reply

