Review of The Mad Catter

24718032

The Mad Catter by Kathi Daley is the second book in her new Whales and Tails series and it is another keeper.

Cait is again involved in another murder, as well as trying to solve the mystery of who was poisoning her aunt.  When she finds a dead body in church, her and her friends know they need to help solve the mystery.  And Cait will not rest until she determines who was poisoning her aunt’s tea.  She enlists the help of her family and friends, along with Alice, the cat who comes to visit to figure out the culprits.

Besides trying to solve these two mysteries, Cait and her friend Tara are working towards getting their coffee shop/bookstore/cat lounge ready to be opened.  And Cait is also trying to figure out her feelings for Cody, her teenage crush, and his feelings towards her.

I really enjoy the fact that this series revolves around different cats that find their way into Cait’s life (I know, that is the Tails part).  Although they do not talk, these cats are able to help solve the mysteries.  I love that concept and that makes the series seem whimsical and magical to me, which I love.  We all know that our own pets are the best and smartest in the world, and I think many of us can picture our own animals helping solve mysteries.

I think one of the best things about the this series (and all the series that Kathi Daley writes) is that they are character driven.  The author knows how to write characters that are likeable and interesting and that the reader wants to get to know better.  I do not feel like I am reading a book, I feel like I am sitting and catching up with friends, finding out what is happening in their lives.  And even though this is a new series, I feel the same way about all the characters in The Mad Catter.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-crafted cozy with a mystery to solve and characters to enjoy reading about.  Come to think of it, that describes all of Kathi Daley’s books, so pick them all up and enjoy your reading.

4 thoughts on “Review of The Mad Catter

Leave a Reply

