Review of A Peace In Time

22358203

A Peace In Time by Herschel Waller is a well written historical mystery suspense novel.  I am very surprised that this is his first full length work.

Teresa and her husband Granger are visiting an old cemetery in Texas when Teresa has a vision about Sarah, a girl that died 150 years ago.  In the vision Teresa feels that Sarah is reaching out to her to help solve the mystery of her death.  After convincing her husband that they need to help the dead girl, they begin to try to unravel the ancient mystery.  With the help of other characters that they meet during the investigation will they be able to figure out what happened so long ago or will they be joining Sarah in death?

This book is a mystery and a ghost book blended together nicely.  There is a lot of suspense and tension that I felt while reading this book.  The author is able to evoke these feelings just with his written word.  The writing is descriptive and pulled me in at the beginning and pulled me along to the wild finish.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  I found myself turning the pages as fast as I could to find out what was going to happen next.  The characters are well developed and realistic, including the ghosts, ( I know ghosts are not real but if they were, these ghosts would be realistic).  I found myself caring about what was going to happen to all of them and worrying about them.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mysteries or ghost stories.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and First Edition Design Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book.

4 thoughts on “Review of A Peace In Time

Leave a Reply

