Review of Toured To Death

22245476

Toured To Death by Hy Conrad is the first book in Amy”s Travel Mystery series and it is a good start to the series.  In this book we are introduced to a mother and daughter pair, Fanny and Amy Abel, who are travel agents.  They set up a murder mystery role-playing game that starts in Monte Carlo and ends in Rome.  The guests must gather clues and try to solve a fictional murder during the trip.  But when the writer of the make-believe mystery is found dead, the fun and games become deadly serious.  Amy and Fanny must now solve a real life murder before anyone else dies.

I love the premise of this book.  It reminds me of old fashion mysteries that could have been written by Agatha Christie.  I feel that this makes this book a unique cozy and I enjoy that.  It is also a more unusual cozy because there is stronger language than what I am used to reading in a cozy mystery.  Nothing that was offensive to me, but it was stronger than normal.

The book is written in two parts: the fictional murder mystery and the actual murder mystery.  I enjoyed the first part better, it seemed to flow smoother and held my attention better.  The second part of the book seemed to drag out a bit.  Both mysteries are suspenseful and I did not figure out the culprits until they were revealed at the end.  I always like when that happens.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a cozy mystery with the feel of an old fashion mystery.  I plan on reading the next book in the series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

One thought on “Review of Toured To Death

Leave a Reply

