Review of Murder At The Book Group

21412200

Murder At The Book Group by Maggie King is a cozy mystery that centers around a real life murder of a member of the book club.  Hazel never expected there to be a real mystery to solve when she started her book club, she just wanted to get a group together to discuss mystery books that they have read.  Was it really a suicide, as it appears to be, or is there something more sinister at play?

There are many suspects to consider and many motives that are revealed while reading the book.  In fact, at times I felt like there were too many people introduced and it started to become hard to keep track of them all.  I could not form a connection with so many people and that took some of my enjoyment away.  It seems to me that people who belong to the same reading group would be friends and know each other rather well.  But that did not seem to be the case in this book, and I found that rather strange.

There were many twists and turns and the suspense kept building throughout the entire day.  I did not figure out the culprit until it was revealed at the end.  And I felt the conclusion was very plausible. I like when that happens.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading cozy mysteries.  But be forewarned that there are many characters introduced and it can become a little confusing, at least for me.  There were things that I really enjoyed about this book and there were somethings that I did not really enjoy.  But overall, I thought this was a good book.  This is the first book I have read by this author and I will read the next book in the series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review of Murder At The Book Group

Leave a Reply

