Review of Gilt By Association

22238067

Gilt By Association by Karen Rose Smith is the third book in the Caprice DeLuca Mystery series  and it is a good read.

Caprice DeLuca is a house-stager for high-end clientele.  Along with her sister, Nikki, who does catering, they host awesome open houses that are the talk of the town.  When they agree to stage and hold an open house for their mother’s best friend, Louise, they never expected it to be the event of the century.  Because they never expected there to be a murder right before the big event.

There are a lot of characters in this book and at times I got a little confused.  I think if I had read book one and two I would not have been as confused, but since I did not read those two books, I had some trouble keeping all the characters straight. I also did not know the backstory for her family and friends so I had no reference point while I was reading.  There also seemed to be a lot of mention of Caprice’s prior murder investigations, almost too much in my opinion.

I did like Caprice and thought she was well developed and realistic.  And I really enjoyed reading about her and her pets.  Having a new puppy is keeping her very busy but she is very patient and works very hard to train the puppy properly.  I also liked reading about her relationship troubles, but every once in a while I wanted to shake her and say “make up your mind”.

The author is very talented in both her descriptions and her suspense writing.  Much of the time I felt like I was right there watching all the action take place around me.  I love when that happens when I am reading.  And there are many twists and turns and many suspects to consider while trying to solve the mystery.  I did not figure out who the killer was until it was revealed at the end.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-written cozy mystery.  But I would suggest reading the first two books so that you have all the background information on the many characters.  That is what I plan on doing, getting the first two books to read.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

5 thoughts on “Review of Gilt By Association

  1. I really like how you do your book reviews, my blog started out that way. I just finished my BA at age 47- so I guess I wanted to change my blog a bit. I am not able to find a job, go figure…so being home I am blogging more and trying to find more focus for my blog. I hope to find a job doing someting creative with crafts this year. Bless you Jackie 🙂

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and comment and thanks for compliment about the site. One of these days I might try to make it fancier but for now it works for me. Good luck on your job search and enjoy your blogging. Mary

Leave a Reply

