Review of If You Believe

23593152

Melody has lost the love of her life, Jack, and knows in her heart that she has found and lost the man she is supposed to be with.  She goes through life working at the bookstore that she owns and spending time with her family and friends, but she has no interest in finding a new man.

Jack returns to earth as an angel in the hopes of finding a new man for Melody.  He wants her to love again and have a chance at the family that they can never have.  Changing his appearance, except for his eyes, he enters Melody’s bookstore and life to begin his quest.  Telling her his name is Oliver, he becomes friends with her and starts trying to suggest she move on with her life.  Melody is drawn to Oliver, although not romantically, and feels safe when she is with him.  But when he starts trying to set her up with dates, she gets angry and tells him to stop.  Jack is not sure how he is going to find the perfect man for Melody, it is a lot harder than he thought it would be.  Will he succeed, or will Melody spend the rest of her life alone?  And will Jack be able to let her go forever if he does find someone for her?

The characters are well rounded, realistic and three dimensional.  Melody is easy to relate to and I found myself thinking how I would feel if I lost the man of my dreams so early in life.  It is difficult to watch her struggle with her loss and her feeling of guilt when she thinks about moving on.  Jack is selfless in his love of Melody and he just wants to see her happy.  No wonder he was the love of her life.

I love reading angel books and this one did not disappoint.  There is humor, romance and suspense and they are blended together nicely.  I felt the writing style is a little choppy and did not flow quite as smoothly as I would have liked.  But the author is very talented in relaying many emotions with just the written word.  There were times when I went from smiling and laughing to feeling sad to feeling hopeful.  It was a bit of a rollercoaster ride and I enjoy that when I am reading.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading a well crafted romance.  And if you enjoy angel stories, you will definitely be entertained by this book.  This is a clean read and a fast easy read.   I have now read any other books by this author but after reading this, I plan to read more of her work.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

Leave a Reply

