Review of Mutts & Murder: A Dog Town USA Cozy Mystery

25219929

Freddie Wolf has returned to Dog Mountain, Oregon, to take a job as a reporter for the local newspaper.  She had been a crime reporter in Portland but now she is covering dog-related events and stories in her hometown.  She lives with her recently divorced sister, Lou, who owns a pastry shop named The Barkery.  In case you have not already guessed, Dog Mountain, Oregon, is crazy about canines.  And do not tell anyone, but Freddie is not a dog person.

After there has been a murder in the dog park, Freddie finds herself wanting to cover the story.  And when her sister becomes a person of interest, she needs to find the killer before her sister is charged with a crime she did not commit.  This will not be easy to do, though, because there are a lot of people who may have wanted the victim dead.  Can Freddie find the culprit before her sister is put away forever?

This is a brand new series for author Meg Muldoon and it is off to a great start.  The characters are interesting and I want to learn more about them.  They are well developed and realistic and they all have some baggage that they carry around with them.  This should  lead to some interesting storylines in future books. And there are a lot of animals involved with the story, which is always a plus.

The mystery is well plotted and there are enough twists and turns to keep the reader guessing.  I did not figure out the killer until it was revealed at the end.  But to me the mystery was secondary to getting to know the characters.  I would not have cared if there even was a mystery to solve, that is how much I enjoyed reading about Freddie and Lou.  Of course there are other characters besides the sisters and they all added to the story.

One thing I found refreshing is that, unlike most cozies who have a group of friends trying to solve the mystery, this one was the two sisters.  I thought this was a nice change and set the book apart from others.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick easy read.  The author is very talented in describing the setting of this small town.  I was quickly drawn in and I could picture the places in my head and found it was someplace I would like to visit.  It would be fantastic to be somewhere that encouraged you to bring your dogs while shopping or eating.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  There are a few authors that I automatically get their new books because I know they will be good.  No questions asked, I know I need to read the book.  Meg Muldoon is one of those authors for me.  If you have not read any of her books, pick up this book as well as her other series and enjoy the read.