Review of The Burning Girl

23214393

The Burning Girl by Lisa Unger is the second book in The Whispers series.  This short story takes place ten years after Eloise discovers her psychic ability.  She is a partner in a detective agency and she has a mentor for her psychic abilities. Her daughter has moved away, and although she has two grandchildren, she does not see her remaining family very often. She continues to have psychic visions and she does her best to help people in need.  But it is definitely taking a toll on her mental and physical health.

I feel that the fact that this book took place ten years after the first book was detrimental to the story continuity.  The reader is not given enough information about how Eloise and her daughter came to terms with their tragedy and the new-found psychic ability.  I was so looking forward to reading about these things and I feel let down.  I know very little more than I did when I finished book one.

I am also confused about the “burning girl”.  It is never really explained what she wants and what her story is.  And there is an incidence in the story (I do not want to spoil other’s reading so I do not want to be specific) and I do not know if or how the “burning girl” is involved.  Although the girl is mentioned quite a lot in the story, no real information is given.    This is very disappointing to me.

Although I enjoyed The Whispers (book one) more than this book, I still enjoyed reading it.  I just wish that some of my questions from the first book were answered.  Hopefully they will be answered in the third book in the series, which I plan on reading.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold Pocket Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Leave a Reply

