Review of Cluttered Attic Secrets

Tina Shaw gets a phone call from her best friend, Leslie, late one night, asking Tina to come to her house.  Leslie is sure she has seen a ghostly image in the old house that she now lives in.  To say that Leslie is freaked out would be an   25753332 understatement.  When Tina gets to her friend’s house, she does not see any ghosts but she does hear ghostly noises. Although neither of the girls believe in ghosts, they are having a hard time coming up with any other explanation.  And when a dead body is found next door to Leslie’s house,  the girls become even more anxious.  They decide they need to investigate the murder and the ghostly happenings before something terrible happens to them or their friends.

The writing style flows easily and this is an easy read.  The suspense and mystery kept pulling me along, and I found myself having to read “just a few” more pages until, before I knew it, I was done.  This book seems to be dialogue driven as much as action driven and this combination worked nicely together.  The ending was a surprise for me and I did not see it coming.  I think this author is very talented in creating mystery and suspense with the written word.

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional.  Tina has her share of problems to deal with: solving the ghostly mystery and the murdered body, dealing with mother, who loves to butt in to her business, and working on her relationship with Hank.  These difficulties made her seem more real to me and I enjoyed that.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.   Although this is the third book in the Tina Tales series, it can be read as a stand alone.  But why not grab the first two books in the series and give yourself a treat.  All of the books that I have read by Jan Christensen have been great reads.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Victory Editing for the opportunity to read and review this book.

12 thoughts on “Review of Cluttered Attic Secrets

Leave a Reply

