Review of Give ‘Em Pumpkin To Talk About

Synopsis:

First in a New Series

Richmond attorney Sarah Tucker returns to sell her family’s abandoned farm in Misty River, Virginia despite unanswered questions about her grandparents’ disappearance sixteen years earlier. Sarah was only twelve when she went to visit and found her grandparents had vanished. No amount of searching has brought answers.

25726901Now Sarah is faced with other issues when a man is killed who claimed to have information about what happened to her grandparents. She learns of a Confederate chest of gold that is said to be buried on the property, and treasure hunters who are willing to do anything to get their hands on it.

Were her grandparents murdered for the gold? Sarah can’t sell the land and go back to her life until she has answers. But the cost of the answers may be her life.

Includes farm-fresh recipes! (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the first book in a new series by authors Joyce and Jim Lavene.  I thought it was a good read and I enjoyed reading it.  There are some things I really enjoyed and some things that I did not enjoy as much.

The mystery is well crafted and well developed.  There are many suspects and motives  to consider, with some twists and turns thrown in to muddy the waters.  I did not figure out who the culprit was until it was revealed at the end, although I did have the killer on my radar.  I also like the fact that there is a mystery that has yet to be resolved.  That mystery is what happened to Sarah’s grandparents sixteen years ago and if they are still alive.  I imagine that those issues will be resolved in future books.

I also enjoyed the small town setting.  Neighbors watch out for each other and help each other in times of need.  But they also gossip and get into everyone’s business, even when it is not appreciated it.  I thought Misty River, Virginia, would be a great place to visit.   

I enjoyed the secondary characters and felt like they were people I would like to meet.  But I did not bond well with the main characters.  I thought that Sarah was too immature and naive, taking too many unnecessary chances with her safety.  I know that I have to suspend reality at times when reading a cozy, but I thought some of her choices were just too foolish.  And the way that Jack kept popping in and out started to drive me crazy.  No explanation was given as to how or why he would seemingly disappear into thin air.  In my opinion, neither character made me want to know them better.  Other readers may have loved them both, but they just did not click with me.  Maybe in the next book I will feel differently.  I do enjoy the writing style of the authors and felt the book flowed smoothly.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery and I will definitely read the next one when it is published.

Leave a Reply

