Review of Nun Too Soon

Synopsis:

Giulia Falcone-Driscoll has just taken on her first impossible client: The Silk Tie Killer. He’s hired Driscoll Investigations to prove his innocence and they have only thirteen days to accomplish it. Talk about being tried in the media. Everyone in town i23158399s sure Roger Fitch strangled his girlfriend with one of his silk neckties. And then there’s the local TMZ wannabes—The Scoop—stalking Giulia and her client for sleazy sound bites.

On top of all that, her assistant’s first baby is due any second, her scary smart admin still doesn’t relate well to humans, and her police detective husband insists her client is guilty. About this marriage thing—it’s unknown territory, but it sure beats ten years of living with 150 nuns.

Giulia’s ownership of Driscoll Investigations hasn’t changed her passion for justice from her convent years. But the more dirt she digs up, the more she’s worried her efforts will help a murderer escape. As the client accuses DI of dragging its heels on purpose, Giulia thinks The Silk Tie Killer might be choosing one of his ties for her own neck. (Goodreads)

Review:

I thought this book was a good read.  There are things that I liked and things I liked a little less.  I enjoyed the concept of the protagonist being a former nun, I thought this was a unique concept.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  I think the mystery is well plotted and not easily solved. There are a lot of twists and turns and red herrings thrown in to keep the reader guessing, which I always like.

I liked the characters and thought for the most part they were well developed.  I enjoyed reading about the interaction between the characters and dialogue between the office coworkers.  I just wish that more information would have been given about Giulia’s time spent as a nun.  There was made mention of the time she was a nun and the dark times she went through but that is about all the information that is given.  I wish I would have found out more about this period in her life.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I will definitely read the next book in the series.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Henery Press for the opportunity to read and review this book.  

4 thoughts on “Review of Nun Too Soon

  1. For more information on this series. Try CHANGING HABITS by A Loweecey. It is free on Amazon, a short novella. It doesn’t give much information abou her life as a nun. There are several other books in the same series.

Leave a Reply

