Review of Haunt Couture And Ghosts Galore

Synopsis:

This looks like a job for the fashion police!

A hot-ticket charity fashion show is the perfect chance for Cookie Chanel, proud owner of It’s Vintage Y’All, to show off her stylistic savvy for a good cause. But when a famous fashionista is fatally flattened, and the ghost of a former private 23526238investigator asks for Cookie’s help, she has to scurry to sew up a solution. With clever clues from Wind Song, her psychic cat, and sassy suggestions from Charlotte, her ghost-in-residence, Cookie must unravel the sinister stitches of a deadly design–before she becomes the next fashion victim…

Don’t miss Cookie Chanel’s Fashion Tips  (Goodreads)

Review:

This is a good cozy mystery that I enjoyed reading.  There are some things that I really liked about the story and I look forward to reading more books in this series.

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I think the relationship between Cookie, Charlotte and Sam is very humorous and I enjoyed reading about them.  You can tell that Cookie gets aggravated with Charlotte at times but she also has true affection for the ghost.  Sam is the strong silent type and I think he added a lot to the story.  I think the three of them make a great crime solving trio.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  At times I felt like the book was more dialogue driven than action driven.  I also felt like the dialogue was repeated needlessly at times.  One example of this is that whenever Cookie needs to pick out an outfit to wear, Charlotte will be the one doing the picking because she thinks that Cookie has no fashion sense.  After reading about this a few times, I felt that it was a little too much.

I like the tips that were included concerning vintage clothing shopping.  I thought this was a great idea and I thought they were very informative.  I also enjoyed Sam’s sleuthing tips and they made me laugh when reading them.  You never know when they might come in handy and be helpful in your sleuthing endeavors.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  If you enjoy vintage clothing then this is definitely a book you will want to read.  

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

    

Leave a Reply

