Review of The Cat Of Christmas Past

Synopsis:

It’s Christmas on Madrona Island and Cait and friends have plans to embrace the magic of the season. The only dark spot on their celebration is the fact that a miserly old landlord is set on evicting an apartment building full of tenants just days b26220721efore Christmas. Cait makes it her mission to save the old building and is aided by a cat named Ebenezer as they try to convince the old man to change his mind. Things look hopeless when she realizes that an unsolved mystery may be behind the man’s gruff exterior. Cait vows to solve the mystery as a means of softening the man’s heart and saving the apartments. An impossible task? Maybe. But Cait knows that miracles are real and anything can happen at Christmas.

Note for mystery purists: This story involves a cold case mystery which is linked to a modern day problem but does not contain a present day murder. (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the sixth book in the Whales and Tails Mystery series and it may be my favorite one yet.  I found it so refreshing that Cait did not stumble upon a dead body in this book.  She is instead trying to solve a kidnapping case from many years ago. This was such a great variation and I really enjoyed it.  It made the mystery more realistic to me and that was a great thing.  And although, I figured out the mystery before it was revealed, I still wanted to know the “how”.  I also enjoyed the parallel to A Christmas Carol, including a mystical cat named Ebenezer.  I thought this was very cleverly done.

The characters continue to grow and they are well developed and well rounded.  Cait and Cody make a great couple and I enjoyed spending more time with them.  They are so willing to help anyone that is less fortunate or having problems.  The supporting characters add a lot to the story and I love catching up on their lives.  As usual, the author is so talented in creating characters that you can relate to and care about.  I always feel like I am visiting old friends when I read a Kathi Daley book.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author excels in descriptive writing and I felt like I was right there watching all the action happening around me.

I would recommend this book, this series and this author to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery with fantastic characters.  You cannot go wrong reading any of the books written by this author.

2 thoughts on “Review of The Cat Of Christmas Past

Leave a Reply

