Review of Roasted In Christmas River

Since I have been featuring Thanksgiving themed books this month on my blog, I got the urge to read one myself, so that is what I did.  And I loved it.

Synopsis:

23533269Gobble gobble, cluck cluck, someone has stolen Jack Daniels the turkey this Thanksgiving, leaving a Christmas River family fresh out of luck!

It’s Thanksgiving week in Christmas River, and pie baker extraordinaire Cinnamon Peters has a lot on her plate. Between planning her big Thanksgiving dinner and baking a mountain of pies at her shop, Cinnamon’s been rushing around like a turkey with its head cut off.

But when someone steals a turkey from its pen just days before the big day, Cinnamon finds herself pulled into the plight of the poor family whose Thanksgiving has been ruined. Despite having hardly a minute to spare, Cinnamon and her husband, Sheriff Daniel Brightman, are compelled to get to the bottom of the fowl crime.

Will they be able to solve the mystery in time to save the family’s Thanksgiving?

Roasted in Christmas River is a lighthearted, standalone Thanksgiving novella of 22,000 words with characters from the Christmas River Cozy series. (Goodreads)

 

Review:  

I love this series and this book was just as good as all the other books in the series.  My only complaint that it was not longer because I enjoyed it so much but I knew it would be short because it is a novella.

All the things that I love about the Christmas River series is present:  great characters, great interactions between the characters, humor and of course a mystery (although this mystery does not involve a murder) to solve.  It was very refreshing to not have a dead body being involved and I thought the author was very clever with the mystery that she presented.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the novel is a quick, easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and much of the time I felt like I was write there with the characters watching all the activities going on around me.  The author created many heartfelt moments and many gentle reminders of what Thanksgiving is all about.  She opened her home to other’s in need and by doing that, it enriched her own holiday.  I really enjoyed the fact that Warren, Cinnamon’s grandfather, was back and that she got to spend time with him.  I really like his character and their interactions.  

I would recommend this novella to anyone who enjoy a a well written cozy mystery.  If you are already a fan of the Christmas River series, this is a must read.  If you are new to this series, it is also a must read, but I would suggest starting the series from the beginning.

 

Leave a Reply

