Faux Pas

Shannon Esposito

5 Stars

26236132Synopsis:

Introducing ‘doggie-yoga’ instructor Elle Pressley, in the first Paws & Pose Mystery – featuring canine cuties, Florida sunshine, a sexy Irish PI . . . and murder most horrid

Doggie-yoga instructor Elle Pressley just wants to teach her classes at Moon Key’s Pampered Pet Spa & Resort in peace and save money to move out of her crazy mother’s house. But when her deceased childhood dog, Angel, shows up, she knows she’s about to be in danger. Sure enough, one of her clients winds up dead, and Elle is pulled head first into the investigation. For the prime suspect is Dr Ira Craft . . . the husband of Elle’s best friend, Hope.

Elle is determined to clear Ira’s name, for Hope’s sake, and she enlists the help of Irish private investigator Devon Burke. But someone is determined to stop Elle from uncovering the truth. And now that Devon’s involved, it’s not just Elle’s life that’s in danger: her heart is too . . .(Amazon)
Review:

This is the first book in the Paws and Pose Mystery series and it is a good one.  All of the things that I look for in a cozy mystery are here:  romance, animals, mystery, great characters and best friends.

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional.  I thought Elle was a great character, she seemed so real to me.  She does not have the best family situation and she suffers from full blown anxiety attacks that she struggles with.  This made her seem more human to me and more vulnerable, which I really liked.  Devon is a good guy and he tries very hard to always do the right thing.  He is suffering from the trauma of losing his parents and that is why he became a private investigator.  So neither Elle or Devon have a picture perfect life, but then again, who amongst us does.  They were two characters that were very easy to like and want to get to know better.  I really enjoyed reading about them and look forward to seeing how their relationship will progress or if it progresses at all.  Her best friend, Hope and Hope’s husband, Ira, were also great characters and added a lot to the story.

The mystery is carried on well throughout the book and there were plenty of clues to direct the reader to the truth.  There were also enough twists and turns to keep the reader guessing, which I like in a mystery book.  The ending was plausible and well thought out.

I was so excited when I started reading the book because Elle had a visit from her deceased childhood dog, Angel.  I thought to myself, “wow, what a great idea, a ghost dog”.  I do not recall reading any books where there is a ghost animal involved.  There may be books like that but I do not believe I have ever seen this.  So I was a little disappointed when Angel only made a few appearances.  I thought this was such a great idea and I hope in future books Angel plays a bigger role.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick, easy read.  The author is very talented with her descriptive writing and for much of the book I felt like I was right there, watching everything happen all around me. One thing that began to bother me was that fact of how many time Elle thought how “hot” Devon was.  I got the concept after reading it a few times, I did not need to keep reading about it.  But I will say that this improved in the second half of the book.   This is only my opinion and it may not have bothered other readers at all.       

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I am definitely looking forward to reading more books in the series when they are published and I hope it is a long series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thanks NetGalley and Severn House Publishers for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

Leave a Reply

