Review of Murder At Redwood Cove

Synopsis:

25952689Bed, breakfast…and a body!

If it weren’t for the fact that she’s replacing a dead man, Kelly Jackson would love her new job managing the Redwood Cove Bed and Breakfast on the coast of Northern California. But Bob Phillips did plunge off the cliff to his death…and Kelly’s starting to think it may not have been an accident. Bob’s retired friends—The “Silver Sentinels”—are also on the case, especially when Kelly is attacked…and another body turns up. Kelly has her hands full with overseeing the B&B’s annual Taste of Chocolate and Wine Festival, but she’s also closing in on the killer…who’s ready to send Kelly on her own permanent vacation… (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the first book in the Redwood Cove series and it was quite enjoyable.  It had all the elements that I look for in a cozy book: mystery, likable characters, small town feel and, of course, a dog.

The mystery is carried on well throughout the book and there are many clues to be found during the course of reading.  And there is not only one mystery to solve but actually three, which was great.   There are twists and turns to muddy the waters and I did not figure out the killer until it was revealed to me.  It came as a surprise to me, and I really like when that happens.  

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  There is an immediate feel of small town closeness and neighbors taking care of each other.  The employees at the bed and breakfast care about each other and  help each other whenever they can.  I think that they welcomed Kelly like they had known her for a very long time.  I felt that Kelly accepted the other people (not those from the bed and breakfast) a little too quickly and her concern for some of the suspects seemed unrealistic to me.  She had just met all these people but she was very worried that one of her new acquaintances would be the guilty party.

To me, Fred, the dog, stole the show.  I enjoyed reading about his antics and his unbridled love and energy.  I think the author perfectly described the devotion and loyalty between a boy and his dog and I felt good reading about it.  The one thing that bothered me with Fred was the special ability that he had.  It was discussed at times throughout the book but at the end of the book it was discussed again and then glossed over.  I would have liked more time spent with this because it was a very important life challenge (I do not want to say more because I do not want to spoil that aspect of the book).  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery. From what I can tell, this is the author’s first book and, as a debut, it is very well written.  I am eagerly awaiting the release of book two in this series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Murder At Redwood Cove

Leave a Reply

