Review of Shamrock Shenanigans

28121315

Shamrock Shenanigans

Kathi Daley

5 Stars

Synopsis:

Zak and Zoe are invited to spend a long weekend in a real haunted castle as part of a murder mystery celebrity event. When one of the guests turns up dead – really dead – on the first night of the event, Zoe shifts into sleuth mode to track down a killer.

 

Review:

In this latest installment of the Zoe Donovan Mystery series, (the 19th book in the series), Zak and Zoe have gone away for a Murder Mystery weekend.  They have traveled to Ireland to attend the event in a haunted house, which Zoe is very excited about.  When a dead body is found, that excitement turns into apprehension and forces Zoe to investigate the murder herself,  The castle is isolated because of a fierce winter storm that closes all the roads and limits communication to the outside world. Hopefully the weather does not affect Zoe’s Zodar because with a limited list of suspects, this mystery may be the hardest of all to solve.

I have to say that I missed the hometown feel of Ashton Falls in this book. But the descriptions of the haunted castle and the blizzard were very detailed and made me feel like I was right there, watching the activity all around me.  I really enjoy when that happens to me when I am reading.  I also missed the usual characters from Ashton Falls, but I did enjoy the ghost encounter.  I have always enjoyed a good ghost story and this one is definitely good.  And it is always fun to spend time with Zak and Zoe and Charlie.   The ending is a real shocker and I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The mystery is carried on well throughout the book and there are some twists and turns to keep the reader guessing, which is always a plus.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  And if you enjoy ghost cozies, you will enjoy this one very much. If you have not read any of the Zoe Donovan mystery series, I would suggest you make it your New Year’s resolution to do so.

Leave a Reply

