Review of Stiff Competition

Stiff Competition

Annelise Ryan

5 Stars

25574066Synopsis:

Every fall, hunting season in Sorenson, Wisconsin, leads to some accidental injuries. Deputy coroner Mattie Winston just hopes the hunters don’t bring any more business to her office. But somebody seems to have declared open season on land developers. One real estate developer who’s recently come to town has been found dead in the woods with an arrow through his neck. Now it’s up to Mattie to get to the bottom of the killing. That might be easier if she wasn’t also hunting for Detective Hurley’s teenage daughter, Emily, who has suddenly disappeared. With a homicidal William Tell out on the loose, Mattie is desperate to find Emily before the killer notches another arrow… (Goodreads)

Review:

I remember reading the first two books in this series a while back and really enjoying them.  I felt the same way reading this one, I thought it was very good.  

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional.  I love the quirky personality of Mattie Winston.  She has returned back to work as the Deputy coroner after the birth of her son.  Reading about how she tries to juggle her work, her son, her son’s feedings, and her love life made me laugh out loud.  The problems she encountered were so realistic and I could completely relate to her woes.  I also enjoyed reading about her relationship with her boyfriend (and the father of her son), Hurley, and I appreciated the fact that things were not always rosy.  This made it more life-like, which I appreciate.

There are two mysteries to solve, one the death of a land developer and the other the disappearance of Hurley’s teenage daughter.  Mattie worked tirelessly to find the answer to both of these mysteries.  I felt the variety made the book more interesting and more difficult to figure out the solutions.  I just had to keep turning the pages to see what would happen.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in combining mystery, suspense, humor and fantastic characters to create a top-notch cozy mystery.  I was pulled into the world that she created and I just wanted to stay there visiting and learning more about all the characters.  I would definitely recommend this book (and series) to anyone who enjoys a well crafted mystery.  I now have another favorite series to catch up on and enjoy.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.  

5 thoughts on “Review of Stiff Competition

Leave a Reply

