Review of Hearse And Buggy

12943356Synopsis:

Fallen Snow

Claire Weatherly has fled a high-stress lifestyle for a slower pace—in Amish country: Heavenly, Pennsylvania. She only planned a short visit but instead found herself opening an Amish specialty shop, Heavenly Treasures, and settling in.  Claire loves her new home, and she’s slowly making friends among the locals, including Esther, a young Amish woman who works in the shop. So when the store’s former owner,the unlikable Walter Snow, is murdered, and the man Esther is sweet on becomes a suspect, Claire can’t help but get involved.

Newly returned Detective Jakob Fisher, who left Heavenly—and his Amish upbringing—as a teenager, is on the case. But his investigation is stalled by the fact that none of his former community will speak with him. Claire’s connections make her the perfect go-between.

As Claire investigates, she uncovers more than she wanted to know about her neighbors. And suddenly, everything she had hoped to find in this peaceful refuge is at risk . . . (Goodreads)
Review:

In this first book in An Amish Mystery series, we are introduced to Claire Weatherly, owner of Heavenly Treasures, a speciality shop featuring many Amish made goods crafted by the local Amish families.  After leaving her fast-paced life behind, she is happy living in this quaint Pennsylvania town.  She is making friends with many of the locals and there are two men who have piqued her interest.  Things are working out just as she hoped until a dead body is found.  Then her quiet life is turned upside down and she finds herself between the Amish culture and the Englisher culture.  She decides she needs to find the murderer to help out her neighbors and friends, making sure that an innocent person is not accused of the crime.

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I found myself caring what happened to them and wanting to know more about their lives.  Claire is a strong independent woman but she has a heart of gold.  When her friends are hurting, so is she.  She wants to make things right in all their worlds, but she is realizing that is not always possible.

I really enjoy reading Amish mysteries because I love learning about their way of life.  I also enjoy reading the difference between their ways and the ways of the Englisher, I have always found this fascinating and this book fed that fascination.  The writer is very talented creating a setting that invites the reader in and makes them reluctant to leave.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery and if you enjoy Amish mysteries, this is a must read book.  I am happy that this is just the first book in the series because I will have more opportunities to visit Claire and Heavenly again and again.

 

9 thoughts on “Review of Hearse And Buggy

    • Thank you for writing such a great book. I’m sure the whole series is great and I plan on reading them all. I’ll be reading Assaulted Pretzel soon. Thanks for letting me know about A Churn For The Worse. And thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting, I really appreciate it.

    • Thanks so much for writing such a great book and I’m sure the whole series is just at great. I plan on reading them all but I want to read them in order. Thanks for letting me know about your latest release. And thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting, I really appreciate it.

    • Thanks so much for writing such a great book and I’m sure the series is just at great. I plan on reading them all, in the correct order. Thanks for letting me know about your latest one. And thank you so much for stopping by the blog and commenting, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

