Review of Wedding Cake Murder

25621455Synopsis:

Everyone in Lake Eden, Minnesota, may have had their doubts, but at long last, Hannah Swensen is getting married!

Hannah is thrilled to be marrying Ross Barton, her college crush. And her excitement only grows when she learns he’ll be able to join her on her trip to New York City for the Food Channel’s dessert chef contest. She’s especially nervous about facing Alain Duquesne, a celebrity chef with a nasty reputation. But before he can tear into Hannah’s layer cake, she finds him stabbed to death on the show’s kitchen set. Out of the oven, as the saying goes, and into the bright lights of Broadway, as Hannah tries to solve a mystery with more layers than a five-tiered wedding cake… (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the nineteenth book in the Hannah Swensen series and I think it is the first book that I have read.  I enjoyed it and I can see why it is so popular and a long lasting series.

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I think Hannah is a likable character. She has a lot on her plate: her upcoming wedding, preparing for a food competition that she is participating in, and keeping her mother happy (that alone is a full time job).  Throw in a murdered judge from the competition and her need to solve the mystery, and she may end up going up in flames.  Although I like the characters, I felt that there were too many of them.  I found myself having trouble keeping track of all of them. This is only my opinion and other readers may not agree with me.  And I have a feeling that if I had read other books in the series, I would have known who was who.  But as it was, I struggled a bit keeping the characters straight in my head.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing, creating a atmosphere one wants to visit and hang out in.  The mystery had a lot of twists and turns and kept me guessing.  But at times I felt like there was a little too much dialogue and the book seemed to be more conversation based rather than action based.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a cozy mystery revolving around food. The recipes that were included were a nice treat.  I plan on reading the other books in this series, starting at book one.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

8 thoughts on “Review of Wedding Cake Murder

  1. I have read ad a good many books of this series. I stopped reading a few books back. I will have to say I still absorb at the last page. I couldn’t believe what I was reading. I may pick up some of the back books from my library as I have no idea who she planned on marrying. I was disappointed in the book.

Leave a Reply

