Review of Fogged Inn

25788982Synopsis:

An autumn chill has settled over Busman’s Harbor, Maine, but Julia Snowden is warming up the town by offering lobster stew at the local diner. When her landlord discovers a dead body in the walk-in refrigerator, Julia must figure out who ordered up a side of murder.

Nothing’s colder than a corpse—especially one stashed inside a sub-zero fridge. The victim spent his last night on earth dining at the restaurant bar, so naturally Julia finds herself at the center of the ensuing investigation. Lost in the November fog, however, is who’d want to kill the unidentified stranger—and why. It might have something to do with a suspicious group of retirees and a decades-old tragedy to which they’re all connected. One thing’s for sure: Julia’s going to make solving this mystery her early bird special…

Includes Traditional Maine Clambake Recipes!
Review:

Fogged Inn is the fourth book in A Maine Clambake series and it was very good. There was not one thing I did not enjoy about this book.

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional. Julia and Chris make a good couple, they seem to compliment each other. Both are hard working and are willing to work to make their relationship and dreams come true. I really enjoyed Gus, he was a crusty old guy but was a bit of a softie too.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The author is very talented in describing the characters and the setting with the written word. I was drawn into the book and felt like I was right there, watching all the action take place. I left reality and visited the world created by the author, which is such a great thing.

I thought the mystery was well plotted and wove the past and the present together perfectly. I really enjoyed the fact that past actions influenced present day consequences. Quite honestly, there is not one thing I would change about this book and I thought it was an excellent read. I was sad when I finished the book, I wanted to spend more time with Julia and Chris.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery. This is the first book I have read by this author but I definitely plan on reading the first three in the series. This author has a new fan of her work.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Review of Fogged Inn

Leave a Reply

