Who’s That Blogger Wednesday

Today I am happy to be talking to Lisa Kelly, blogger extraordinaire.  She has a great blog that many readers follow and I thought it would be fun to learn a little bit more about her.  Be sure to stop by her blog and say “hello”.

 

 

Thanks Lisa for agreeing to talk to me and allowing us to learn a little bit more about you.  

Could you tell us a little bit about yourself and your blog?

A little about me. Hmmm…I’m not a very exciting person. I’m a real home body. I love to read, write real snail mail letters to friends (much more personal).  I love all animals, but my favorite pet has always been a dog, and I’m one of eight siblings. I’m next to the youngest. Oh…I love cupcakes! Anything cupcake! My kitchen is decorated with them. I have figurines, candles, tea towels, measuring cups, clothing, all with cupcakes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

My  blog, Lisa Ks Book Reviews celebrates and promotes cozy mysteries, and the authors who write them. I do giveaways, reviews, author’s guest posts, and a few new features I’m having a lot of fun with.

 

What inspired you to start your blog?

I became hooked on cozy mysteries a few years ago after my sister introduced them to me. I would leave a review once and a while. Then a started following some authors on Facebook, and I wanted to do more. So, I started my blog thinking it would end up being more for myself than anyone else. Then people started reading it and following me!

What do you think is the most challenging thing about blogging?

Keeping it fresh. Coming up with new ideas to bring regular readers back, and to entice new readers.

What do you think is the most rewarding thing about blogging?

Helping the authors spread words about their books, and helping readers to find new authors and series.

 

Where do you find inspiration for your blogging material?

My inspiration comes from the love of all things cozy mystery. The books, the authors, the readers, and my own inner author screaming to get out. 😉 
     

 

So many of your blogs are so creative.  How do you come up with such creative ideas?

Honestly? They just sort of hit me. Like Cozy Food Friday. There are a lot of readers who love cozies with recipes. Sharing a recipe is a great way to promote the book.

My newest feature, The Cozy Times, I thought would be a fun way to get authors involved by writing newspaper articles for their cozy town newspaper. Even a cozy that doesn’t feature a newspaper can invent one for The Cozy Times. It’s another for way for the authors to promote.

 

How much time would you say you spend on your blog?

I have been known to spend up to 18 hours a day on my blog. Some family things have come up recently, so I spend a little less time. But I like to get up very early in the morning to get things done. I feel like I can do more that time of day.

 

I know that you are a cozy reader.  Why do you think you are drawn to that genre?

I loved reading suspense thrillers. But I went into a reading slump. For over a year I didn’t read. My older sister was bothered by this because I have always been a reader. So she handed my one of the books in the Cupcake Bakery Mysteries. I read it straight through. It was so wonderful that I read every book by Jenn McKinlay before I moved on to other writers. I figured out that it was the darkness, and anger, the language, and violence in the suspense thrillers that had caused me to stop reading. Cozies have murder and mayhem, intelligent writing, character driven stories, and some of the trickiest plots to try and figure out. Plus I learn so much about all sorts of subjects! But no gore, language, or obligatory sex scenes. Cozies have something for everyone, and for readers of varying ages.

 

 

When you are not blogging or reading, what do you like to do?

As I mentioned above, I’m a very boring person. I do like to take day trips. Going to Rehoboth Beach here in Delaware. I don’t go on the beach, just enjoy the boardwalk, watching people, and the ocean. I love the sounds and smells. I also really enjoy trips to Lancaster County, PA. We went a lot when I was growing up, and I love the memories, and familiar places.

 

I also like to just get in the car, my camera and me, and take photos. Whatever catches my eye. Once I just took photos of flowers in my brother’s yard. I was pretty proud of how they turned out.

 

What would you say your most proudest blogging achievement is?

That would be when I scheduled my first interview. It was with Laura Bradford who writes the Amish Mysteries, and the Sew Circle Mysteries under her penname Elizabeth Lynn Casey. Not only did she agree to the interview, but she offered a giveaway! That was so fun, yet scary! LOL

Laura Bradford     Amish Mysteries, the Jenkins & Burns Mysteries, and the Southern Sewing Circle Mysteries (written as Elizabeth Lynn Casey).

Do you have a favorite place to read?  Do you have a favorite place to work on your blog?

Funny enough, I love reading in the car. If I’m waiting for someone who is shopping or at an appointment, I get a lot of reading done.


As for working on my blog, I do it all in my living room from my recliner.

 

 

 

What would you most like people to know about?

A couple of things. First…Not all reviewers get paid for what we do. We’re not all in affiliate programs with Amazon. I make no money at all from what I do. I really do it for fun, and love.

Second…I can’t stress how important it is for readers to writ reviews. They don’t have to be long. A star rating and “I loved this book!” or “Great story!” are more than enough to help our authors out. Helping them ensures out favorite series will continue.

 

You were instrumental to me when I first started blogging.  What advice would you give someone else who is just starting to blog?

Aw, thank you, Mary. It feels good to know I’ve helped someone. When starting a blog, if you want author to be guests, don’t be afraid to ask them. Nicely. Cozy authors are wonderful, and mostly always willing to help. But don’t bug them if they say no. Use the resources the Internet has for you. Book sites, author’s websites. Don’t go into it if you want to get rich. This is not the way to do it. Most importantly, have fun! If you stop having fun, than blogging may not be for you.

Thank you again, Mary for having me. This was fun!


~ Lisa Ks Book Reviews ~
Blog
Facebook
Twitter

 

6 thoughts on “Who’s That Blogger Wednesday

  1. I loved this interview, Lisa and Mary. It was from the heart. Both of you are so giving to the cozy community, to the readers and to the authors.
    Lisa, interesting that you like to read in your car, but I can understand why if there are a lot of distractions at home. When I was working as a public health nurse I did all of my charting in the car parked somewhere beautiful…at a park or the river. I wouldn’t have gotten anything done in my office.
    I love your Cozy Food Friday. I enjoy culinary mysteries and face I love food. You’ve often had great recipes on there.
    I just want to thank you both. You have been great supports to me and I appreciate all that you do.
    Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

