Review of A Broth Of Betrayal

 

A Broth Of Betrayal

A Soup Lover’s Mystery, Book 2

Connie Archer

5 Stars

15808758Synopsis:

Even a town called Snowflake, Vermont, has a summer season. In August, Lucky Jamieson’s By the Spoonful serves chilled soups—celery and green onion, cream of asparagus—and salads. The shop also serves as a gathering place to talk about cold-blooded murder…

A protest to stop the construction of an ugly car wash in the middle of the town’s picturesque Village Green is interrupted by the discovery of a skeleton that may date back to the Revolutionary War. While the remains pose a historical mystery, a present-day murder shakes the town to its core when local auto mechanic Harry Hodges is found dead in his shop.

Straining the patience of Chief of Police Nate Edgerton, Lucky soon finds herself in the soup again when her dear friend Elizabeth, the Mayor of Snowflake, goes missing. No matter how much trouble she has to stir up, Lucky is determined to use her noodle to uncover a killer and recover her friend…

Recipes included! (Goodreads)

Review:

This time around, Lucky has a couple of mysteries to solve.  When one of the local townsmen is found murdered, Lucky cannot help but get involved looking for clues and trying to figure out who the killer is.  And when Elizabeth, the mayor and Lucky’s close friend, goes missing, Lucky is beside herself with worry.  She needs to do whatever it takes to locate her before she is missing for good.  

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  I truly love the relationship between Lucky and her grandfather, Jack.  They have such a caring relationship and it seems so realistic to me.  Everybody should have a grandfather like Jack.  I also thought that it seemed very natural that Lucky is still having a hard time dealing with the death of her parents and she is still missing them terribly.  The relationship between Lucky and Elias is moving along at a lifelike rate and I like seeing how it is developing.The supporting characters add a lot to the story.  My only complaint about the characters is that at times I had trouble keeping them straight in my mind.  It seemed like some of the names were very similar and I had to keep checking who they were.  This is probably just me, my mind is not as sharp as it used to be.  Other readers may not have any difficulty keeping everyone straight.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  I liked the fact that there was more than one mystery to solve, this made it even more difficult to sort through all the clues.  There are enough suspects and twists and turns to challenge even the most die hard mystery reader.  I also liked the fact that the Chief of Police was not portrayed as an incompetent lawman, like they are in many of the cozy mystery books that I read.  

This is the second book in the Soup Lover’s Mystery series, and it is the second book that I have read.  I can honestly say that I enjoyed them both immensely and I am looking forward to reading the others in the series.  Do yourself a favor and check out this series, you will be glad that you did.  

http://www.amazon.com/Broth-Betrayal-Soup-Lovers-Mystery/dp/0425252086/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1463668301&sr=8-1&keywords=broth+of+betrayal

 

8 thoughts on “Review of A Broth Of Betrayal

  1. Great review, Mary. I’ve changed characters’ names a number of times when I thought they were too similar to another name. The goal is not to make it confusing for the reader. 🙂

  2. I confess I, too, sometimes have trouble keeping characters straight if the names are too similar . . . but it sounds like the series is worth reading anyway. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

