Who’s That Blogger

 

Today I am happy to be spending time with Christy Maurer, owner of Christy’s Cozy Corners.  I wanted to learn a little bit about her and her blog and share what I found out.  Thanks, Christy, for agreeing to answer some of my questions.

Can you tell is a little bit about yourself and your blog?

Hi, everyone! I am a widowed mom of 2. My daughter will be starting her senior year of college in the fall, and my son will be starting his freshman year of college then too. My blog focuses on things that my family loves. My daughter and I love reading, so I do a lot of book reviews. We love to travel as a family, so I post travel related posts as well. I also love sharing giveaways with my readers and entering them too. I also talk about my fur babies on my blog.

 

What inspired you to start your blog?

I first got inspired to start a blog when I was entering giveaways. A lot of times the blogger doing the giveaway wanted us to share the giveaways on our blog. I figured if they could do it, so could I! As I’ve been blogging longer, I’m trying to focus my energies a little more on things that I really am passionate about.

 

How much time do you spend on your blog?

I have been spending a lot more time on my blog lately. I’m really trying to get my page views up 🙂  

 

I’m guessing from the name of your blog that you enjoy reading cozies.  Do you enjoy reading other genres as well?

I love reading cozies! My first cozy mystery was The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare. That was back in 1992. I never knew there was a whole genre of these amazing books. I love many genres. I love Inspirational fiction, some chick lit (depends on the author), middle grade books are some of my favorites, and I’m a fan of the dystopian genre too. It really all depends on the book more than the genre to me, though cozy mysteries will always be near the top of my lists. 

 

What do you think is the hardest thing about blogging?

I think the hardest thing about blogging is staying relevant for a large audience. I’ve had a hard time narrowing my niche because I just love so many things 🙂

 

What do you think is the most rewarding thing about blogging?

I really love sharing book reviews and get really excited when people take my suggestions! It gives me a good feeling to share my love of books with others. It always amazes me when people say they don’t read!

 

How do you spend your spare time?

Reading, reading, reading! I do have some favorite television shows that I keep up with via my DVR. I love the Hallmark channel (The Middle, The Good Witch, movies! especially the Christmas ones). My daughter and I are also huge Once Upon a Time and Grimm fans.

What is your blogging environment like?

I’m usually sitting in my recliner with a cat trying to butt in! I am pretty good at tuning out distractions, so even if the television is on, I get my posts written. I think that sort of goes with my lifestyle. I hang out in the living room with the kids and animals, so I write my blog from there too!

 

What would you most want people to know about you?

I’d like them to know that first and foremost, I am a Jesus girl! I would never have made it through the loss of my husband when he died in his sleep (completely unexpectedly) in November of 2013 and left me a widow at 43. I can feel God’s hand holding me up through all of my grief…which still comes and goes like waves.

 

How can readers follow your blog?

You can follow my blog at http://christyscozycorners.com/ by email (on the right side bar), Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ChristysCozyCorners/, Twitter https://twitter.com/Christy41970 , Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/christy41970/ , and Instagram https://www.instagram.com/christy41970/

       Christy’s Cozy Corners

5 thoughts on “Who’s That Blogger

Leave a Reply

