Review of Proposals and Poison

 

Proposals and Poison

A Wedding Planner Mystery, Book #3

Rachelle J. Christensen

5 Stars

29081229Synopsis:

Love can be a very dangerous thing.

At least it seems that way to Adri Pyper, the premier wedding planner in Sun Valley, Idaho. When one of her clients dies mysteriously, Adri takes the advice of the local detective and swears she will stay out of the investigation . . . this time. Luke Stetson’s involvement in the case, along with the possibility of a kiss between the two, should be enough incentive to keep Adri out of trouble. But when a dog-themed wedding is almost ruined by a suspect, Adri and her assistant, Lorea, are thrust into private eye mode. When poison enters the picture, even a reluctant sleuth can’t steer clear of danger. (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I enjoyed the relationship between Adri and Lorea, you could tell that they are best friends and enjoy working together.  I enjoyed the bickering and banter between the two.  I also liked the relationship between Lorea and Tony.  I liked the fact that Tony was not portrayed as bumbling idiot, but a competent policemen.  I thought it was clever that Adri is a wedding planner and her love interest is a divorce lawyer.  That makes for some awkward moments between them.  The only thing that bothered me a little was how Adri kept thinking about how crazy she was for Luke and how he made her tingle.  After the first ten times of reading it, I got it and did not need further reminders.  Maybe it was just me that found it getting tiresome, other readers might not have minded at all.    

I thought that the profession of a wedding planner was a nice twist on the occupation of the protagonist.  I found it interesting learning a few tricks of the trade.  And I think it will provide a lot of great material and plots for future books.  

The mystery was carried on well throughout the book.  There were enough suspects and twists and turns to keep this reader guessing the whole way.  A couple of times I thought I had it figured out but I was wrong!

At the beginning of each chapter, there is a recipe or instructions for creating a craft project.  The some of the recipes looked very good and I think I may have to try some of them.  And there is a vast array of craft projects to try.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  It had a little bit of everything: humor, suspense, romance and mystery.  I am looking forward to reading the first two books in the series.  

https://www.amazon.com/Proposals-Poison-Wedding-Planner-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B01BTCO5Q2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1464793200&sr=1-1&keywords=proposals+and+poison

 

Leave a Reply

