Review of Kernel Of Truth

Kernel Of Truth

Popcorn Shop Mystery, Book #1

Kristi Abbott

5 Stars

 

25685789Synopsis:

An all-new Popcorn Shop Mystery bursts on the scene, featuring gourmet popcorn entrepreneur Rebecca Anderson and her poodle Sprocket.

Opening a gourmet popcorn shop was never on Rebecca Anderson’s bucket list. But after a failed marriage to a celebrity chef, she’s ready for her life to open up and expand. She has returned to her hometown of Grand Lake, Ohio, with her popcorn-loving poodle Sprocket to start a new business—naturally called POPS. As a delicious bonus, Cordelia “Coco” Bittles, a close family friend who has always been like a grandmother to Rebecca, owns the chocolate shop next door, and the two are thinking of combining their businesses.

But when Coco’s niece, Alice, discovers her on the floor of her chocolate shop, those dreams go up in smoke. The local sheriff thinks Coco was the victim of a robbery gone wrong, but Rebecca isn’t so sure. As suspects start popping up all over, Rebecca is determined to turn up the heat and bring the killer to justice in a jiffy!

INCLUDES POPCORN RELATED RECIPES! (Goodreads)

 

Review:

Rebecca Anderson could not wait to leave Grand Lake, Ohio, when she graduated.  She was the talk of the town as a teenager, but not in a good way.  She knew she needed to get away and live life on her own terms.  But when she divorces her celebrity chef husband she finds herself back, opening a new business.  She opens Pops, a gourmet popcorn shop, with the help of her friend and mentor Coco, and she is making it a successful business.  But when Coco is killed, she is heartbroken.  She cannot believe that someone would kill an elderly business shop owner and she knows that she has to try to find the killer.  

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  Rebecca is funny and feisty and I enjoyed getting to know her.  She is not afraid to put her nose where it does not belong and she is persistent and nosy.  It does not even matter to her that the sheriff is her best friend and brother-in-law, she plans to help him solve the case whether he wants help or not.  I enjoyed reading about the family dynamics and cannot wait to get to know them all better.  I also enjoyed reading about Sprocket, Rebecca’s poodle.  I loved reading about the conversations that she had with him and how expressive he was.  Rebecca’s ex-husband is a real pain and it is easy to dislike him.  

The author is very good in her descriptive writing and I got pulled right into the book.  I felt like I was right there in Grand Lake, watching all the activities happening around me. The small town setting was another plus is my book and I enjoyed meeting many of the nosy townspeople.   There were also many laugh out loud moments for me while reading this book.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  This book has everything a reader could want in a cozy: great characters, mystery and suspense, a unique theme, humor and of course a dog.  It is a great start to a new series and I cannot wait to read book two.

 

6 thoughts on “Review of Kernel Of Truth

  1. Oh, no! I knew you were going to tempt me further before the week was out, and boy was I right! I have never been able to resist popcorn — in fact, the girls who lived across from me in my college dorm always popped extra because they knew I would come out as soon as I smelled it. I couldn’t help myself, and they were soooo generous that they just popped extra each time. Now, popcorn, a cozy and a dog . . . yeah, like I’m going to say, “No thanks” — not!

Leave a Reply

