Review of In Twenty Years

 

28135067Synopsis:

Twenty years ago, six Penn students shared a house, naively certain that their friendships would endure—until the death of their ringleader and dear friend Bea splintered the group for good. Now, mostly estranged from one another, the remaining five reluctantly gather at that same house on the eve of what would have been Bea’s fortieth birthday.

But along with the return of the friends come old grudges, unrequited feelings, and buried secrets. Catherine, the CEO of a domestic empire, and Owen, a stay-at-home dad, were picture-perfect college sweethearts—but now teeter on the brink of disaster. Lindy, a well-known musician, is pushing middle age in an industry that’s all about youth and slowly self-destructing as she grapples with her own identity. Behind his smile, handsome plastic surgeon Colin harbors the heartbreaking truth about his own history with Bea. And Annie carefully curates her life on Instagram and Facebook, keeping up appearances so she doesn’t have to face the truth about her own empty reality.

Reunited in the place where so many dreams began, and bolstered by the hope of healing, each of them is forced to confront the past. (Goodreads)

Review:

I am not  fan of books written in the first person.  I seem to have a hard time getting into the story most of the time, and that was the case with this book.  I loved the premise of the book, and  who of us does not not wonder where our lives will be in the future and if our friendships will last.  Although I thought it was a good read, I felt it lacked a little something for me.  That is only my opinion and others may argue with me but that is how I felt.

The characters were well developed but I did not feel like any of them were very likeable. They all had some good qualities but overall I did not think they were the nicest people. They all had a lot of baggage and problems and just did not seem that realistic to me.  I found it a little hard to believe that, within that small group of friends, so many of them were extraordinarily successful.  

I thought the writing style flowed smoothly and the book was a quick easy read.  I did like the fact that each chapter was named after a character.  I felt this allowed me to get to know each character a little better.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well written women’s contemporary.  I enjoyed the book but I just thought it could have been better.  But again, this is only my opinion.  I would not recommend it for a young adult due to some language.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book.

https://www.amazon.com/Twenty-Years-Allison-Winn-Scotch/dp/1503935248/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467404258&sr=8-1&keywords=in+twenty+years+allison+winn+scotch

 

2 thoughts on “Review of In Twenty Years

  1. Thanks, Mary.

    I do find it hard to get into a book when I dislike all, or even most, of the primary characters. After all, I’m bringing these people into my home and into my life, and I don’t want to spend a lot of time with unpleasant people. I think one reason I like mysteries so much is because the bad guys don’t, or at least should not, win. Bad things may happen to good people, but we can rely on bad things catching up to bad characters in these books and justice in the end.

Leave a Reply

