Review of Caught Bread Handed

 

26114338Synopsis:

Welcome to Torte—a friendly, small-town family bake shop where the oven is heating up as high as the body count…

Jules Capshaw is still chewing over her husband Carlos’s return to Ashland, Oregon. Could there be too many cooks in the kitchen? Whatever is stirring between those two will have to wait. Despite the Oregon Shakespeare Festival being dark for the winter, the bakeshop is bustling, the dough is rolling, and there’s no rest for the weary…especially when murder is thrown into the mix.

When Mindy Nolan, the owner of a new restaurant in town, turns up dead, the batter at hand thickens. Jules knows that there was bad blood between Mindy and others in town, and tracking down the killer could prove to be an unwelcome treat. And to top it all off, there’s Carlos, who is pleading—with those delicious dark eyes and sexy Spanish accent—for Jules to take him back. Is home where the heart is or will she make a fresh start…and risk getting burned? (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  I enjoy the relationships between all of the employees at the bake shop, they seemed very natural.  There are some romantic relationships blossoming and that was nice to read about.  Jules is still very confused about her husband, Carlos, and is not sure what she should do.  It seemed liked her confusion was a little less than in the last book that I read, but there are still questions concerning their relationship.  One of Jules friends, Lance, is a very quirky character and very irreverent.  At times I found him annoying, but that is only my opinion.  Other readers may love him but he was a little too much for me.   

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and I felt like I was right there, seeing all the food and smelling all of the delicious aromas in the bake shop.  At times I think it was a little too much description because I felt like I was reading a cooking magazine or a cookbook instead of a cozy.  I know that the theme is cooking but I just felt it was a little much.  Again, that is only my opinion and other readers may not agree with me.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  There was a mystery to solve but not a lot of the book was spent on finding the killer.  One thing that I felt made this book different was the fact that Jules never really put herself in any danger while she was gathering clues.  She talked to a lot of different suspects but did not take any unnecessary chance.  In fact, Jules was not involved directly with the apprehension of the killer.  She was a safe distance away and was not in any real danger.  I think this is a much more realistic ending and I really liked that.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a food themed cozy.  There are recipes at the back of the book for some delicious sounding food.  This is the second book I have read by this author and I enjoyed them both.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

Leave a Reply

