Review of Tomb With A View

Tomb With A View

Pepper Martin, Book #6

Casey Daniels

5 Stars

 

7302517Synopsis:

Cemeteries come alive for amateur sleuth/reluctant medium Pepper Martin.

Cleveland’s Garden View Cemetery is hosting a James A. Garfield commemoration. For tour guide and reluctant medium Pepper Martin this means that she’ll surely be hearing from the dead president himself. And when she’s assigned to help plan the event with know-it-all volunteer and Garfield fanatic Marjorie Klinker, she’ll wish Marjorie were dead…too bad someone beats Pepper to it. (Goodreads)

Review:

Pepper is going through a bit of a rough time in her life. Ella, her boss and friend, has asked her to help plan a James A. Garfield commemorative celebration at the cemetery that she is a tour guide for.  As if that is not bad enough, she has to work with Marjorie Klinker, a volunteer at the cemetery who is a know-it-all on all things President Garfield. Then there is the little matter of a stalker who has been bothering her for a while.  Add to that the fact that she has broken up with Quinn, her detective boyfriend, and like I said, life is a little rough right now.  And when Marjorie turns up dead, Pepper’s plate has just started overflowing.  Pepper decides she needs to solve the murder before Quinn does, just so she can show him up.  Nothing would give her more pleasure than doing just that.  But she had better be careful, before she finds herself a permanent member of the cemetery club!

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  Pepper has such a sarcastic irreverent sense of humor that I found myself laughing every few pages.  She is definitely my kind of protagonist.  She is very full of herself and does not lack self confidence, but she is not snooty or spoiled.  She used to live a privileged life, until her father ends up in jail.  She makes the best of her situation and does not really complain.  I enjoy the relationship between Pepper and Ella. They really could not be more different but Pepper really likes Ella and tries to do things to keep her happy.   The bickering between Pepper and Quinn is very funny and I enjoyed it a lot.  I also enjoyed the interaction between Pepper and President Garfield.  I love her ghostly encounters.

There are really three mysteries to solve in this book (I enjoy when there are more than one).  The first is who killed Marjorie, the second is who is Pepper’s stalker, and I do not want to say what the third is because I do not want to spoil it for other readers.  Pepper really has her hands full trying to get answers to all these questions.  There are enough twist and turns and suspects to keep Pepper (and me) guessing until the very end.  There was enough tension and suspense to keep me turning pages well into the night.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick, easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there watching Pepper in action.  I really enjoy the fact that the series takes place in the Cleveland area and it is great to know the areas that the author is mentioning and describing.  

I have read the first five books in this series and I have loved them all.  I am not sure how I got behind in the series but I will definitely being reading the rest of the books until I get caught up.  Ghostly cozies are one of my favorite genres to read and the Pepper Martin series is as good as any I have read.  I would definitely recommend this book, and series, to any cozy mystery lover.   

https://www.amazon.com/Tomb-View-Pepper-Martin-Mysteries/dp/0425235513/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1469843101&sr=8-1&keywords=tomb+with+a+view

4 thoughts on “Review of Tomb With A View

  1. Wonderful post. Enjoyed your review very much. This is one of my all time favorites and there is a new book coming out in 2017. It is Graveyard Shift, Book #1 in the Pepper Martin Paranormal Mystery Series. I can’t wait! Since it has been 5 years since the last book, this is wonderful news.

    • I know. I saw that it was coming out so I went to make sure I was all caught up and i wasn’t. So now I’m going to read the ones that i’m behind in so I’ll be ready for the new release.

  2. When I brought the book I thought I was reading #6, some how I manged to read number # 7 instead. It is excellent o e the is amazing. Nice thing a out this series they can be read as a stand-alone. My reviews will be later.

Leave a Reply

