Who’s That Reader

Today’s Who’s That Reader is Jean Ransom Oldsmobile.  She is an avid reader and very active in the cozy community on Facebook.  I wanted to learn a little bit more about her and I thought I’d share what I learned with everyone.    Thanks so much, Jean, for taking the time to be intervie

 

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live in Knoxville, TN with my hubby and Maine coon cat. I recently lost my precious Persian boy. I am a grandmother to 5 boys and one girl. My hobbies are reading, gardening, sewing (I do costuming), and collecting vintage cookbooks. I am an antiquarian book dealer along with my husband whom also restores vintage Oldsmobile’s.  I am a book reviewer and an avid tea drinker.

 

 

What is your favorite genre to read?   Do you read other genres as well?

 

My Daddy bought a Nancy Drew for me when I was 6 or 7. I spent the rest of that summer devouring every title of the series I could get my hands on. It fueled my lifelong love for mysteries. I love the cozy mystery genre the most, but I also read suspense, and fantasy. I love Patricia Sands “Provence” series. I also love to read travel related books i.e. (Under the Tuscan Sun, France’s Mayes books about Tuscany, Peter Mayle’s Provence books.)

How much time would you say you spend reading each day?

I read at least 3-6 hours a day, sometimes more in the winter or a rainy day.

Do you prefer to read with an e-reader or do you prefer to read an actual book?

 

I prefer to read an actual book, but due to reviewing I read a lot of ebooks. If I really like a book I have an Ebook of, I will buy the actual book.

How do you learn about new books that are being released?

 I belong to lots of cozy mystery pages on Facebook and learn about new books coming out,  I also find new books through authors, friends and NetGalley. I review for several authors and publishers and on NetGalley.

Do you review all the books that you read?

I always review every book

Do you buy all the books that you read or do you get books from the library?

I never use the library for books as I have a pretty extensive one of my own with two rooms in my house dedicated to books. I buy the books I read or get an ePub for reviewing.

Are you a reader that has to start a series at the beginning or can you just start a series anywhere?

 

I like to start a series from the beginning. I have started in the middle of some however and went back and read from the beginning

How many books are in your To-Be-Read pile?

My TBR pile grows daily and I have lost count. So many books I want to read and not enough hours.

Do you have a favorite place to read?

I normally read in the evenings on my favorite leather couch next to my hubby. In the summer I like to read sitting in my white wicker rocking chair under my mulberry tree.

Is there anything you’d like to say to the authors or fellow readers?

I read because I know it helps the authors and I want to keep reading their books.  I really love the Cozy Mystery community. The authors and the readers are all so much fun to hang out with online. I have been lucky enough to meet Authors Tonya Kappes and Kathi Daley and both were so nice. I also met fellow reader Dawn Frazier at a local book event in Knoxville. We could have talked for hours. I really cherish the friendships I have made with author’s and readers online and wish I could meet them all in person.

IMG_1810

Thanks again Mary for asking me to do the interview.

Jeannie Daniel

10 thoughts on “Who’s That Reader

  1. It’s wonderful to learn more about you, Jeannie Daniel “Jean Ransom Oldsmobile.” I enjoyed reading this interview very much.

    I remember Jean Ransom Oldsmobile participating in a book discussion of one of my cozies on Lisa Morin’s Cozy Book Club. It great to put a face to a name.

    Thank you, Jeannie and Mary for a great post. 🙂

  2. Jeannie, I remember you collected books on herbs and actually dug up ginseng for medicinal purposes. That was really cool. I don’t think most people know much about ginseng. I remember your comment about the gypsy costume and the crystal ball. I had a lot of fun at the discussion of The Ginseng Conspiracy and you were a great contributor.

    Thank you so much and thank you for your contribution also to the cozy community. 🙂

Leave a Reply

