Review of Town In A Blueberry Jam

Town In A Blueberry Jam

A Candy Holliday Mystery, Book #1

B. B. Haywood

5 Stars

7468650Synopsis:

First in the fabulous new Candy Holliday Murder mystery series.

In the seaside village of Cape Willington, Maine, Candy Holliday has an idyllic life tending to the Blueberry Acres farm she runs with her father. But, when an aging playboy and the newly crowned Blueberry Queen are killed, Candy investigates to clear the name of a local handyman. And as she sorts through the town’s juicy secrets, things start to get sticky indeed… (Goodreads)

Review:

Candy is living with her father on their Blueberry Acres farm, and she is enjoying her life. She loves all things blueberry, she loves baking delicious pastries with the fruit, she enjoys spending time with her dad and her best friend Maggie.  Life is quiet and safe in Cape Willington, until it isn’t.  When two members of the community are killed, things become hectic and dangerous.  And when a friend of her’s is accused of committing the murders, she knows she has to help prove his innocence.  

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I really enjoyed the interaction between Candy and Maggie.  They are really good friends and will do just about anything to help the other, including breaking and entering.  We should all have that good of a friend in our lives.  I also enjoyed Candy’s dad and his posse, they were fun to read about.  

The mystery was carried on well throughout the entire book.  There are quite a few suspects to consider, especially since one of the victims was not really well liked.  There are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader guessing and an occasional red herring thrown in, just for fun.  Just when I thought I had the culprit nailed, something would happen to show that I was wrong.  I never did figure out the killer until it was revealed.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there, watching the action take place all around me.        

Right from the very first page (the prologue), I was hooked on this book.  The book does not start out like the other cozies that I have read, and I like that fact.   I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy.  I cannot wait to read the rest of the books in this series.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Review of Town In A Blueberry Jam

  1. This series is on my TBR pile. I have the first couple in the series that I bought at a used book sale at the library. Another one I need to bump up the pile.

  2. I love this series & have since I stumbled across it a couple of years ago. I enjoyed your review as it reminded me how good this series is. Hope you are able to get all of them read before the new one comes out.

Leave a Reply

