Review of Spies And Spells

Spies And Spells

Spies And Spells, Book #1

Tonya Kappes

5 Stars

 

29064113Synopsis:

While Maggie waits for her Witchy Hour, she works at the family diner with her mom, aunt Meme and Lilith, her sister – all witches. Soon Maggie gets entangled with a mysterious handsome stranger, Mick Jasper, and his secret U.S. organization, SKUL. Has she found her calling? (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the first book in a new series by this author and it is a very enjoyable read.  I have read a lot of books by her and I have enjoyed them all, and this one was no different.    

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I love the relationship between Maggie and her sister, Lilith.  There is much bickering and banter and dares made between the two sisters, but they love each other like sisters should and have each other’s backs. I also enjoy meeting Aunt Meme, she was quite a character, quirky and strong willed.   I also enjoyed the interaction between Maggie and her car, Vinnie.  That was one unique relationship.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there, watching all the action taking place.  The mystery had enough twists and turns to keep the reader guessing, which I enjoy.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a witchy cozy mystery that is well crafted.  I am looking forward to reading the next books in the series.  Be sure to pick up this book and check out all of the other series written by this author, you will not be disappointed.

 

34 thoughts on “Review of Spies And Spells

  1. Fantastic review! I completely agree with everything you said. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in this series! 🙂

  2. Tonya writes great “get- away” books – books where I can get away from the daily stuff & live vicariously through the characters! Fun stories with a touch of Southern humor! Exactly what fiction is all about!!!❤️

  3. Every time I think, “This is my favorite TK series,” I read a book from another series & feel that’s my fave. This series is right up there: in the top 3! This is as sweet as a pecan pie and as Southern as a praline!

Leave a Reply

