Who’s That Reader

Today’s Who’s That Reader is Peggy Hyndman, a reader who is very active in the cozy community.  I met her on Facebook and I know how much she loves to read.  I wanted to learn more about her and share what I learned.  Thanks, Peggy, for agreeing to be interviewed.

 

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a retired paralegal, a mother of four grown children, and have seventeen grandchildren.  I love spending time with my family, reading, knitting, crocheting, and doing word and number puzzles.  After I took an early retirement, I started a custom knit/crochet business and had booths at many of the local craft fairs.  I was raised in Colorado and moved to South Texas about 40 years ago, and now reside in a suburb of Dallas, Texas now and since all my children and grandchildren live in a 50-mile radius; I guess I’m here to stay!

 

 

 

 

What is your favorite genre to read?  Do you read other genres as well?

Cozy mysteries are my favorite genre but I also enjoy reading mysteries, some suspense, and “feel good” stories.

 

Do you have a favorite place to read?  How much time would you say you spend reading each day?

I have a chair in my living room that I love to curl up in to read and I usually fall asleep reading in bed at night.  I would guess that on average, I read about five to six hours a day.

 

Do you prefer to read with an e-reader or do you prefer to read an actual book?

I prefer to read with an e-reader because I can change the font style and size.  I do miss the feel and smell of real books but it’s wonderful only having to take make my e-reader with me and have an unlimited amount of reading material at my fingertips.  I bought a Kindle Paperwhite and won a Kindle Fire in an author contest, but I prefer reading on the Kindle Paperwhite.

 

How do you learn about new books that are being released?

I usually learn about new books through author and blogger posts on Facebook and author newsletters.

Do you review all the books that you read?

I post reviews for ~95% of the books I read and rate the other ~5%.

 

Do you buy all the books that you read or do you get books from the library?  Do you belong to any Book Clubs?

I buy quite a few books but also utilize my library’s e-reader server.  I don’t belong to any Book Clubs but I Read & Review books for NetGalley, am in several Street/Early Reviewer Groups, and provide editing for one cozy author.

Are you a reader that has to start a series at the beginning or can you just start a series anywhere?

I prefer to start a series at the beginning when possible but it isn’t a requirement for me.  Since I do so many Read & Reviews, I often start at the third or fourth book in a series.

How many books are in your To-Be-Read pile?

I have over 800 on my Kindle or Cloud storage that I haven’t read yet and over 400 books on my “Wish” and “To Be Read” lists.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Who’s That Reader

  1. What a great interview! I love getting to know more about readers and bloggers in the cozy community. I’m impressed with how many hours a day you read, Peggy! Thanks for sharing this, Mary!

Leave a Reply

