Review of Costume Catastrophe

Costume Catastrophe

Zoe Donovan Mystery Series, Book #21

Kathi Daley

5 Stars

30770361Synopsis:

It’s Halloween in Ashton Falls and that means Haunted Hamlet and the annual haunted house. Zoe is determined not to have her plans for this annual event ruined this year especially since it is also the weekend of the big game and a lot of old friends are in town. Things look as if they are on track for a spooktacular good time, until Zoe receives a message from an anonymous source predicting a death. At first Zoe and the gang think the note is a prank until one of the friends Zoe went to high school with actually turns up dead. Once Zoe realizes the note might not be a prank, she sets out on a race against time before someone else dies. (Goodreads)

 

Review:

When I have a book by this author, I never feel like I am reading a story.  Instead I feel like I am going to visit old friends, spending time with them and catching up on all that is happening in their lives.  And there was a lot of catching up to do, especially with Ellie and Levi.  Things are changing for Zoe and her gang and I am happy to be able to read about all of the changes that are taking place.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick, easy read.  The author is so talented in character development and atmosphere that I always feel like I am right there, watching all the action taking place and listening in on conversations.  I become so totally immersed in the story that reality fades away.  That is one of the many reasons that I love all the series that are written by this author

The mystery is carried on well throughout the entire book.  There were enough suspects to consider and enough clues to sift through that I was kept guessing until the very end.  I thought the big twist at the end was excellent and I never saw it coming (that’s what I like when I read a mystery).    

I would recommend this book (and series and author) to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  If you are already a fan, you will enjoy the this next installment in Zoe and Zak’z life.  If you have never read any books by this author, do yourself a favor and start reading this series and all of her others.  You will definitely not be disappointed.

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Costume Catastrophe

Leave a Reply

